We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am a Platinum member, and this stay was using Rewards Points. I have stayed here before, and was satisfied with the accommodations. However, this visit was a complete disappointment. I was traveling with a pet this time, so that was most likely the reason for the different experience. The carpet and chairs were stained and dirty. I wouldn't have been willing to walk across that carpet with bare feet. I realize that there is constant maintenance required in hotels, and that pet rooms could provide an additional challenge. But the additional fee you charge should cover the cost and ensure a comfortable stay for the subsequent guests. I travel frequently with a pet, and some hotels charge an extra fee while others do not. None of them have been anywhere close to the poor quality of the room I had here. I would not recommend the pet rooms at this facility. Although I travel through this area a number of times a year, I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear OnTheRoadWarrior,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room condition. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    46
    30
    13
See reviews for
44
33
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We expected better. Very slow service at check in with only one person at front desk. Having a small dog, we were told to enter the back door so as not to walk across the lobby. Only two handicap spaces within 50 feet of doors. The rest were at least 100 feet away. The room was good, but there was mold in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was very good and open until 10 AM.

Room Tip: Try another hotel in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear George G,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate the breakfast buffet. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received and the bathroom condition. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was definitely average as a whole. As others have said, it's what you should expect from a Holiday Inn. The two main things I rate a hotel on are customer and cleanliness. This hotel satisfied our needs in both areas.

My wife and I were on a road trip to Talladega and didn't make any reservations. We just figured we'd stop when we got tired. We actually stopped at a hotel across the street first. But we left without a reservation because of how the front desk clerk treated an elderly gentleman in front of us. I won't go into details, but she didn't even know the phone number for her own hotel. With that said, we made our way across the street to Holiday Inn. I believe the young lady at the front desk was named Ashely. She greeted us with a smile and a very pleasant demeanor. She of us a very fair rate and had us checked in within minutes. Customer service...check!

We parked the car, grabbed our bags, and headed to our room. The room was nothing amazing, but it was exactly what should be expected from a Holiday Inn. It was clean, the water pressure was great, and the bed was adequate. My only real complaint, the pillows. There were only four pillows on the king size bed. "So what?" you might think. Well, all four were about half the size of a standard pillow. They were more the size of a throw pillow for a couch. Fortunately my wife travels with a pillow or two in the car and we were set for the night.

We definitely took advantage of the free, in-room, wi-fi. It was easy to connect and a great speed. The complimentary breakfast looked so-so, but our minds were already set on the Cracker Barrel right next door. Check out was a breeze. Again, there may be fancier/nicer hotels, but not for the price. It's a great value for a one night stay while you're on a road trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Okie1976,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

All was good here, as long as you are expecting a holiday inn level of quality. Rooms were clean, full warm breakfast free in the morning, fairly big place. Rooms were fairly well updated with the exception of the bathroom. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were lumpy and hard. Other than that I have no complaints

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here twice last month. Had prior reservations both times. Front desk was courteous. Rooms were clean. Tub drained OK. Everything except the blackout curtains in room 505 worked. On second stay had no issues at all. In this market it's better than average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamblee, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything was above average except the beds. The mattress was either old or just not comfortable. The sheets were wrinkled and thin but towels were very new and soft.

If you are just passing through and need a clean ,quiet room this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear thalialou,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We apologize you were not satisfied with the bed you had during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I attended a three day conference at this facility. My room was spotless when I checked in. Check in was fast and courteous. The facility is very attractive as you enter with large comfortable chairs and couches grouped for intimate visiting and mini-meetings. The free Wi-Fi was a big plus and was easy to access and use. My favorite thing was the pool. Opens early enough to take a swim before sitting through business meetings and late enough for another dip before bed if desired. The complimentary breakfast was tasty (although the same every morning) with enough variety to not have to eat the same thing every morning. The area for eating was large and clean and well stocked. There is ample parking and a room just off the main entrance with an abundance of nice new bellman carts for guest use when arriving or departing. During an afternoon meeting in the large conference room, I stepped out to take some medicine and when I asked for change at the front desk to buy a bottle of water from the vending machine, the desk clerk gave me a bottle of cold water from their refrigerator behind the desk. The servers at our luncheons and dinners were very nice, efficient, and helpful. The food was as good as large business meeting food can get (same salad, etc, but different main course and sides each meal). The best thing was the wonderful yeasty rolls they serve with every meal. Housekeeping seems to pay attention to detail when cleaning. Nothing was out of place or in need of replenishment when they left. All in all a great time. I would stay here again any time I am in that area.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for an inside room on the second or third floor. There are balconies or at least wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.