We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop for a road trip stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good stop for a road trip stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

All was good here, as long as you are expecting a holiday inn level of quality. Rooms were clean, full warm breakfast free in the morning, fairly big place. Rooms were fairly well updated with the exception of the bathroom. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were lumpy and hard. Other than that I have no complaints

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    40
    29
    12
See reviews for
39
27
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ava, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here twice last month. Had prior reservations both times. Front desk was courteous. Rooms were clean. Tub drained OK. Everything except the blackout curtains in room 505 worked. On second stay had no issues at all. In this market it's better than average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chamblee, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything was above average except the beds. The mattress was either old or just not comfortable. The sheets were wrinkled and thin but towels were very new and soft.

If you are just passing through and need a clean ,quiet room this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear thalialou,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We apologize you were not satisfied with the bed you had during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I attended a three day conference at this facility. My room was spotless when I checked in. Check in was fast and courteous. The facility is very attractive as you enter with large comfortable chairs and couches grouped for intimate visiting and mini-meetings. The free Wi-Fi was a big plus and was easy to access and use. My favorite thing was the pool. Opens early enough to take a swim before sitting through business meetings and late enough for another dip before bed if desired. The complimentary breakfast was tasty (although the same every morning) with enough variety to not have to eat the same thing every morning. The area for eating was large and clean and well stocked. There is ample parking and a room just off the main entrance with an abundance of nice new bellman carts for guest use when arriving or departing. During an afternoon meeting in the large conference room, I stepped out to take some medicine and when I asked for change at the front desk to buy a bottle of water from the vending machine, the desk clerk gave me a bottle of cold water from their refrigerator behind the desk. The servers at our luncheons and dinners were very nice, efficient, and helpful. The food was as good as large business meeting food can get (same salad, etc, but different main course and sides each meal). The best thing was the wonderful yeasty rolls they serve with every meal. Housekeeping seems to pay attention to detail when cleaning. Nothing was out of place or in need of replenishment when they left. All in all a great time. I would stay here again any time I am in that area.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for an inside room on the second or third floor. There are balconies or at least wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, Ecuador
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I just was connected to the internet through your (Holiday Inn, Mount Vernon) service (I am a current guest) and chuckled at the spade of poor reviews on your own site. I was just in the restaurant tonight and another woman started a conversation about how poor the service is here, and how dated the hotel appears. Another gentleman jumped in the conversation saying that the restaurant staff were in a tizzy trying to serve the few tables that were present and how he was taking his group of 10 guests across the street to Buffalo Wild Wings instead of eating as planned at the hotel. This isn't a bandaid fix, or a lecture or correction to a particular staff member. This clearly is a reflection on the management team who permits an on-going lackluster commitment to customer service and an acceptance of mediocracy.

Room Tip: Asked three time to be assured I would get a non-smoking room.........you guessed it. Room was satu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear megoreilly,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and concerns We are happy you like our location. Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay and apologize that our hotel fell below your expectations. Rest assured that these concerns will be looked into. We greatly appreciate your opinion and suggestions. We do hope when business or pleasure brings you back to the area, you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

First time stay here. Staff was very friendly. Easy check in/out. Sports bar restaurant. Ok food, good service. Room was fine with great bed linens and a king size bed. Ladies-bring hair conditioner and shower cap. The rest is provided. While a bit tired, they are upgrading (linens, extended shower curtain, free wifi). I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Semomu,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We travel frequently with our dog. It's not that easy finding a hotel that provides rooms that look and smell clean when you travel with your dog. That is what we want and that is what we found at the Mt Vernon Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Room 507 had a bit of a shower drain problem. We reported it. Hopefully it is fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.