We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel is in much need of an update. It was just OK. The breakfast was totally subpar. The two ladies manning the breakfast area were more into their gripe session. One lady was throwing cereal boxes into a bin and I had to try to work around her. I got a snippy "Sorry". Not at all what I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Cindy H,

Thank you for your candid review. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    40
    29
    13
See reviews for
39
28
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So disappointed with this hotel. Came to southern, IL for Mothers Day weekend. PLUS, it was SIU graduation weekend. You would think they would have hired additional staff, more food (for breakfast) as they were completely packed! Nope, we got to breakfast one hour before they were suppose to stop serving & there was pretty much nothing left. We were told there was no more food, I ate a container of yogurt & some cold nasty piece of sausage (ONE piece). After we were done with the little bit of remaining food, we took the kids to play in the pool - it is decent. On our way out of the pool (5 minutes before breakfast was suppose to be done) they brought out some more food. Of course, they only left it out FIVE minutes, they clean up ON TIME.

So, time to leave, I had to wait TWENTY minutes for an elevator! Don't be a slug, take the stairs...HONEST to God, there was five people waiting with me, we ALL looked for stairs there were NO OPEN stair doors, they were all locked. It was a TOTAL nightmare. NEVER again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear RebaCarolyn,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with out breakfast service and slow elevators. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

We hope you give us a chance to serve you again in the future to provide you with the service you deserve from us.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wouldn't stay here again - no big reason, just a lot of small ones. It's a bigger older hotel with a dampness issue I guess? Room smelled a little like mildew / urine. I would have requested a different room but they were totally booked.
There's a restaurant that the room says is open in the morning for breakfast but wasn't. On the flip side that mean there was a free breakfast, but it wasn't very good.
The pool was nice and this hotel is pet friendly so those are two positives!
Staff wasn't nearly as friendly as we had come to expect on our cross-country trip - not rude, just not friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear 520shari,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our vacation. The rooms were very clean and what one would expect. The staff was pleasant to deal with. The only complaint was trying to print our boarding passes for our flight in the morning. The computer was super slow and it took over 30 minutes to print 2 boarding passes. It is not a huge deal but when you just want to go to bed after a long day, time means a little more. The breakfast in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Mount Vernon while in town for my brother's graduation from SIU-Carbondale. Being unfamiliar with the area, we chose to stay at a Holiday Inn given past experiences with the brand, but this hotel did not meet the standards I've come to expect when staying even at a Holiday Inn Express. We stayed in a two bedroom king suite, which was actually two adjoining rooms with one bedroom converted to a living room. The layout was somewhat awkward, but the rooms were very clean. My only real complaint would be that the beds were pretty hard, which made relaxing a bit difficult. As far as the hotel itself, it is in desperate need of an update. The furniture and carpet were quite old and had an appearance of being run down. Also, while there, all of the ice machines were out of service on every floor forcing guests to go to the main floor for ice. We stayed on the second floor, which reeked of cigarette smoke in the hallways, which would likely bother some folks. I should also note since it has been brought up elsewhere in the review that the employees were not unfriendly, but they did not engage customers proactively or positively either. If you are expecting exceptional service, it is unlikely to happen here. The buffet breakfast was adequate, but it was a bit odd that I asked to provide my hotel room number to one of the attendants. Overall, it seems like the room price is a bit too high even if the basics are there and up to par.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear LillyMilwaukee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I regret that this visit was not exemplary for you due to the issues encountered with the bed accommodations that you were given and service received being sub par. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area, you give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statesboro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The front desk was not very helpful also I am a Priority Club member they did not acknowledge me when I checked in I got the idea they could have cared less. They also stuck me in a room with no fridge or micro-wave. All in all it was not a very good experience there, I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear steve c,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and room amenities. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed one night on our way back home from Florida. Checked in and forgot to ask for the senior discount. On our way out asked if they would readjust the bill. The girl who checked us in the night before was working again that morning. She did not know if she could do it and asked I believe her name was Heather if she could adjust it. Heather never said a word, nor looked at me, I said is it a "yes, no or a maybe", she said she would have to check what the rate was last night. Never looked at me, nor a smile on her face, very rude and unprofessional and irritated. So she told the other girl that she could adjust the bill but that girl didn't know how to do it. So "Heather" had to begrudgingly walk over to the other computer and show her how to do it. It only came to a few dollars but a buck is a buck!! And also the breakfast buffet is great to have but only if there is food on it! I believe we left about 7:45 AM and the hot items had not been refilled.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear JulieRWi,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments regarding the front desk and the breakfast are very much appreciated. We rely on you our guest to let us know how we are doing and how to better meet your needs. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.