We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three steps back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Mount Vernon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Days Inn Mount Vernon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Potomac Blvd, I-57 Exit 95 & Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Three steps back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my third time staying here and this time I was very disappointed. My initial thought was it was okay. The smell in the hall was a little overbearing from some heavy spices but since I do not sleep in the halls I overlooked that. When I reached the room it was very clean and smelled very clean. The shower head was aweful. The noise level for the doors seemed extremely high. Those doors slam shut which is very loud. The bed was fine, the room was almost okay except for....I asked for a non-smoking room which I was given room 307 all seemed well until I got up the next morning. Opening the bathroom door I had an overwhelming "gush" of cigerette smoke smell. It was yucky. I looked in the halls and noticed something I had not previously noticed. Both rooms on each side of me were both smoking rooms. WHAT??? really, you place a smoking room smack in the middle of smoking rooms? Trust me, non-smokers can smell that from a mile away. When I checked out I asked about the smoking rooms around my room. The lady at the front desk tells me that I should have asked for the first floor that the entire first floor is non-smoking. REALLY? Since I booked this room at least two maybe even three weeks in advance something tells me there was probably a room on the first floor to put me in without me asking. The whole "non-smoking" choice should have been the first sign that I should be placed on the first floor. This is enough to make me rethink my stays here. I will be in Mount Vernon about every six weeks until winter, I am not sure if I will stay here again. Time will tell.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker Ask for the first floor and do not take room 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    67
    54
    33
    27
See reviews for
92
46
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steger
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everyone was friendly. The room was very nice. We were very comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast, and wouldn't have minded staying another night if we could have.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Heat/fan/AC unit needs to be turned on at front desk but they didn't tell us when we checked in. It should be activated automatically! We thought it was broken and didn't call the front desk since we didn't want staff in our room fixing it in the middle of the night. An easily avoidable issue if they would have just turned the stupid thing on when we bought the room. Front desk clerk was snippy to us when we mentioned it wasn't working in the morning when we checked out. We didn't expect or ask for a refund, we just wanted them to know about the issue and we ended up getting a lecture instead. Not cool, Days Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Plains
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We found the hotel clean, service good, satisfactory price. We would be happy to stay there again on our vacation transit road trip to Florida. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Manager at Days Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to let us know how we are doing, We hope to see you on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 205 Potomac Blvd, I-57 Exit 95 & Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.