We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Korean Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chungkiwa Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chungkiwa Restaurant
1658 W Algonquin Rd, Mount Prospect, IL 60056-5500
(847) 806-1633
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 119 Restaurants in Mount Prospect
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Korean Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Everything I tried was excellent. Make sure you have the full experience and use the barbeque grill for your meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We eat here when we fly from O'Hare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

For many years we have eaten at Chungkiwa prior to a flight from O'Hare. I'm thinking we first went there 15 years ago when we lived in the area. For 2 adults and one child we always get the bul go ki, a seafood pancake (not sure what it's called) and another meat to barbecue. We always have far too much food. It comes with soup and a number of sides. I like the bean sprouts the best. Our 6 yo likes the fish cakes. All the sides are good. The staff always brings our little girl chopsticks with a rubber band so she can try them. The decor is basic and a little odd, certainly nothing fancy. Good value.

I'd assume this is South Korean food but it reminded me of dining in North Korea. Very simple but tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illoinois
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful Korean Cuisine in Chicago's North Suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chungkiwa looks like a typical shopping mall restaurant, but in fact it is much better than the norm. It is an authentic Korean restaurant, with Barbeque items, noodle dishes, and casseroles. The menu is very large, with a wide range that should suit almost everyone. My wife had the spicy pork barbeque, I had the standard beef barbeque, both were delicious. They give you plenty of lettuce leaves in which to wrap the barbeque, and plenty of condiments to add. The service is excellent - the waiter noted that I was wearing a suit, and suggested that instead of barbecuing at the table, where I might ruin the suit, they could do the cooking in the kitchen. I was impressed. The quality of everything was top drawer - I think this is one of the real hidden treasures in the north suburbs of Chicago, and frankly one of the best Korean restaurants in the Chicago area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
1 review
“By far one of my favorite Korean places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Chungkiwa has the best dolsot (hot pot) bi bim bop ever! I have been to many Korean restaurants in Chicago and New York, and this is definitely my all time favorite. They have been consistent with the food everytime. Of course, the bulgogi is excellent here but bulgogi is a tough dish to mess up.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

I live in the area, and this is my favorite restaurant ever! I've been going here for 18 years and never had a bad experience. Excellent food, excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chungkiwa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chungkiwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chungkiwa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.