We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Finn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Finn
157 Randhurst Village Drive, Mount Prospect, IL
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 119 Restaurants in Mount Prospect
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chicago
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Average Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at Black Fin. The food this time was a bit disappointing. My wife had the Chicken Caesar Salad. The chicken was a bit dry and tough. I had their slicedPrime Rib and Cheese Sandwich. While the meat was tender, it had very little flavor. Also it would be nice with a salad to get a roll or something. My wife and I both had the potato leak soup, it had flavor, but it appeared to be more blended then any potato soup we have ever had. Also the service was a bit low. It took much to long to get our entrees.

The other times we have been there other times and the food was excellent. We will give it another chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Went there on Sunday(we don't live in that area) and I ordered the crabcake sandwich-it was delish and the fries were good too.My hubby had pulled pork sandwich and liked it too.We sat in the bar,which has loads of tv's.Our waitress was good but it's one of those places where everyone looks about 10!I agree with some of the other reviewers that the prices are a little high but there again, the quality is there,which is more important to me.Also the wine pours are decent(my pet peeve is a thimbleful of wine for $8.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Make it 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place keeps on getting better. Food, staff and drinks from beer and wine to cocktails are all fantastic. Big screen and large screen TVs in the saloon area for watching sports. Vibrant bar scene with low key entertainment on Friday nights. Great addition to the Randhurst Village experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great meeting place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went here recently with my daughter who was visiting from out of town. We were just looking for a quiet place to chat and have a light bite to eat. We were seated at the dining area to the right when you walk in. There is a larger, somewhat nicer area to the left but we weren't being picky. This was a Wednesday night around 6:00pm. We were seated in a booth that was very quiet. The service was great. We enjoyed half price glasses of wine. We shared the brie appetizer even though we thought it was a liitle pricey.It was well worth it. Then we shared the hand dipped chicken tenders (they really are hand dipped). They were very moist and tasty. My daughter had an appetizer salad that she wasn't crazy about...too much dressing so ask for the dressing on the side. Overall, a nice place and I will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Meeting Spot at Randhurst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Black Finn at Randhurst in Mt. Prospect recently opened last summer. Great spot for meeting up with friends for a meal and drinks. There is an outside seating area that is great for the summer months. The bar area is large with nice booths or tables and good service. There is a separate dining area if you prefer not to eat in the bar. Great service, good food, a bit over priced, but it was a good experience. I highly recommend the mac n cheese. Yummmmy!! Salads are fresh with tasty dressings. The burgers are excellent, too. Love the Ying Yang Shrimp appetizer. Will be returning!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Finn also viewed

 
Mount Prospect, IL
 

Been to Black Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Finn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.