We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for hungry families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Ranch

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Ranch
139 E Ashland St, Morton, IL 61550-1447
309-263-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 restaurants in Morton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
o'fallon, mo
2 reviews
“Great for hungry families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent, friendly service (they brought out pizza requests even though it was a buffet). Pizza was hot and great, salad bar also.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    7
    5
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pizza Ranch--well worth another try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have been to the Pizza Ranch before and even though there was a variety of pizzas to choose on the buffet it just didn't seem to hit the spot. This week we went again even though I wasn't interested in going. It has been awhile so I gave into peer pressure (my extended family loves this place) and tried it again after a year or so of refusing to come back. I am so glad I did.

The first thing I noticed different was the staff. They were very welcoming and helpful. I didn't find that to be true of previous visits. We were greeted at the door and checked on several times during our meal. We were encouraged to order pizzas and dessert pizzas of our choosing. I love this aspect of the restaurant.

The next thing I noticed was the pizzas seemed to be kept at a better temperature. Every piece of pizza I had off the buffet was hot and tasty. Last time I couldn't find a combination that suited me. This time I fell in love with the BLT and could have eaten myself sick on it. We also met the needs of the kids by ordering a plain extra cheese pizza. Then we ended on an apple dessert pizza. Yum.

The other thing I noticed was that the restaurant was busier than any other time I had been there before. I'm sure that contributed to the fact that the pizza was hot and fresh. So I will be sure to visit during prime meal times.

I had a piece of chicken from the bar and even though I didn't care for it my husband loved it. He deemed it too moist for my taste. Yes, I like dried out chicken. The chicken flew off the bar and they were constantly replenishing the supply that it didn't have a chance to dry out. For most people that would be a plus.

They also had a modge podge of other food items on the two bars. They had a full salad bar complete with chocolate pudding to my son's delight. There was hot soup, mashed potatoes, corn and other items available with the chicken.

I'm glad I gave into the family's wishes and tried this place again because I really enjoyed it and plan to return soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Foods not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food isn't bad and they have a decent selection. They also take requests at the register when you walk in and will bring it to you. Sometimes it can get a little cluttered with dirty dishes and that becomes unsightly but otherwise it is OK.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“best fried chicken,good pizza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great place to get full !! The fried chicken is the best in town(sorry KFC) The pizza is average but always fresh.The salad bar is ok,nothing great but not terrible.Plenty of food selection including dessert pizza.Mostly a buffet style but you can order pizza off the menu too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went for a family dinner out. Was good food had many types of pizza on the buffet line, as well as Fried Chicken. Was a bit expensive considering the Pizza deals around now. If you want to pay 10 each to eat pizza this place has good food, clean , and very freindly

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.