We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust the staff to do what they say they are going to do!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Gore Road, Morris, IL 60450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't trust the staff to do what they say they are going to do!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is a standard Holiday Inn Express, nothing special. The staff assured me my reservation was updated to include and fridge and microwave for my three week stay. Which turns out didn't happen. The hot tub is NOT hot! The colleague I was traveling with had to be placed in three rooms one week because the first room was a smoking room(she doesn't smoke), second room there was a half eaten sandwich, condoms and some sort of male enhancement product is the supposed clean room. They had no comment but to say...Those cleaning people I'm going to kill them !! Horrible customer service! I would not recommend this hotel at all!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear delank22,

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate you were not satisfied with the service offered during your stay. We are always working to improve our level of service, and the feedback we receive from our guests will help us to accomplish this. I really appreciate your comments; I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Morris.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
13
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Morris is a fairly small town so it doesn't have too many hotels. The Holiday Inn seems to be the best local place to stay. The facility is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a good selection of restaurants very close by and for the price, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Lakes, Mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We recently had to make a trip to the area for a family death. I called the day we were traveling and was greated with a live person on the phone. She was curteous, professional and when I mentioned we were coming for a funeral she offered a bereavement rate. I did not inquire she merely offered as an extension of their level of service. Check in and out was quick and painless and our room was large, clean and very comfortable. We were traveling with our 5 & 6 six year olds so the pool was a nice addition to our stay. Again, clean and well maintained. The breakfast service bar was well stocked and everything was fresh and again well maintained. Great location off the highway and just a very courteous staff. Thank you for making a difficult trip a little less painful because of your wonderful hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Just ask...we did and it was a perfect choice for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Love our large room, clean hotel, yummy breakfast, and clean room. Would come again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

New property. Staff was grilling out to raise funds for a local charity. Good stay, 1st pick when in the area

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel was impeccably clean and it is conveniently located off of I-80. It was built 3 years ago but they spared the expense of installing any soundproofing insulation as you can hear everyone and everything adjacent to your room, including doors slamming shut in the hallway at all hours of the night and your neighbors when they stumble into their room at 3am...OK if you are a deep sleeper I suppose. Bathroom is a nice size and rooms are outfitted with HD TVs. We had an issue with reserving a non-smoking room; apparently the hotel has 94 of them, and only about 10 smoking rooms, and although we booked our room 3 months in advance, they claimed at that time to only have smoking rooms available. Upon check-in we asked if any non-smoking rooms were available; again we were told no (funny given the fact most of the wedding reception guests at the event we attended were staying there and were smokers....you know someone who badly wanted a smoking room was getting stuck without one). We went up to our smoking room (the entire smoking wing of the hotel smelled like a smoke fest) and the HVAC did not work; we called down to the front desk and after a 10 minute wait they magically had a non-smoking room appear for us. We were using hotel points for this stay and believe that is the reason we were initially being forced into the smoking section. The hotel offers a free breakfast with lots of options - including a pancake making machine that was really neat. The eggs and orange juice were very watered down, but at least there was some variety. Upon check-out, we requested a zero balance receipt to ensure no incidentals were charged to the room erroneously....the front desk refused to give us a receipt because we had used points to pay for the room (we have never run into this problem at any other hotel chain). Overall, a poor experience and I would not return, but there are not many options in Morris, Ilinois. We didn't use the pool but it looked decent and many other customers took advantage of it.

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking section unless you want all of your belongings to smell like an ashtray
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Was nothing less than I expected, you get what you pay for and we got a great nights sleep in a clean and comfortable room!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris

Address: 222 Gore Road, Morris, IL 60450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Morris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Morris, Illinois where comfort meets convenience. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers staying in the southwestern suburbs of Chicago. Families looking for lodging in Morris, Illinois will not be disappointed by our beautiful hotel, located just off I-80 & Route 47. We offer close proximity to numerous local attractions, including the historic I&M Canal, Stratton State Park, Nettle Creek Public Golf Course, Chicagoland Speedway and the casinos in Joliet. Other nearby sights and activities include the scenic historic downtown Morris and Starved Rock State Park. Business travelers will be impressed by the comfort of our charming Morris, IL accommodations. Situated in a quiet area southwest of Chicago, our hotel is convenient to numerous large companies such as ComEd Power, ProLogis, Caterpillar Inc., Wackenhut, Ritchie Brothers and Master Lee. In addition, we provide a Business Center with free faxing, copier, printer and computer with free high-speed Internet access so you can conduct business on the road. We strive to provide all guests with a relaxing stay at our Morris, IL hotel. Our hotel amenities include a heated indoor pool with hot tub, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Morris
Holiday Inn Morris
Morris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Morris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Morris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.