We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Indian Restaurant

The Great Indian Restaurant
4400 Avenue of the Cities, Moline, IL
563.505.5148
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 148 Restaurants in Moline
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Far too good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

You always can tell when you see the people of their culture enjoying the feasts of a restaurant. This one is one of those gems. It was a Sunday, which was brunch style. At least 4 types of curry, naan, salad, 2 types of rice, chicken, 2 types of dessert. In particular one dessert. A fried donut hole doused in (what tasted like) agave honey.

Very reasonable price, for two it was under $20. The waiter was a quiet teenager/ younger lady. Perhaps family help?

There is also a menu, take out is available. I've heard they have lamb balls... must investigate.

I would recommend this place if you are looking for something exotic for your taste buds!
Hope you guys enjoy!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good naan and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We had dinner here. There were lots of choices on the menu. The service was nice. The two dishes we got: peas with mushrooms and chana masala, were okay. The naan was good. I would go back to try their other dishes.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“poor customer service and horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

It is really not a GREAT restuarant as the name says. I am a regular customer to the restaurant. They literally charge you for EVERYTHING. The young man at the counter also charges for cracking a smile at the customers. He really needs to learn some respect and treat the customers well. They are not running a charity. We pay for what they give and also for the poor customer service.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“under new owners again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Didnt see a single person I know. None of the dishes were seasoned right. I have been here weekly for years. Guess ill be eating in da enport from now on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“We love The Great Indian Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been missing this place! The Great Indian Restaurant is our fav place to dine in the QC. Not only is the food excellent, but the table service is always great as well. Whether you know this cuisine or not, you can find your way around the menu because it's grouped into sections and there are good descriptions, plus the wait staff are always willing to assist if you ask or if they think that you might want to add something that complements your order. You can get your food paintmelting hot if you want it that way down to really mild. Be sure to specify. Every time we go in to order we have this little pep talk that we give each other - "ok, we'll just get one app, two entree's, we'll get one masala tea. That's it." Then we go in, smell the deliciousness about to be ours, and the plan goes out the window. Umm, one masala tea - we specially ask for the spicy kind without any sweetening, and they make it right up for us. Vegg samosas - very nice, distinctly shaped pastry outside, great filling. Good mint and tamarind chutneys. Chana masala, malai kofta, chicken with spinach and ginger, chicken tikka masala, vindaloo selections - that's some seeeriously hot stuff, beautiful/simple white rice, uttapam, perfectly cooked naans, then one kheer, and one gulab jamun. Yeah, we need to go with like 5 extra people because we order for 7 almost every time! We hadn't been here in a while, and now there are curtains up, some new paintings. We especially enjoy the movable tables in back. People truck in and out for the buffet, take-out, and dining in the restaurant off of the menu. They have a private parking lot. 309-797-6603. By the way, give them time to make your food up...if you order off of the menu and expect your entrees in ten minutes, think again. Excellent food takes time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Great Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.