We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wretched!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Moline

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Moline to your Saves list
Super 8 Moline
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2501 52nd Ave, Moline, IL 61265   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Moline
Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Wretched!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I recommend staying anywhere else, maybe even under a bridge abutment... The closet sized "non-smoking" room I booked smelled like an ashtray and all of the linens had cigarette burns. The list of failings is almost too long to detail here, but in the interest of helping others avoid a terrible experience I am going to try; the room featured such amenities as a jammed window, cobwebs, peeling wallpaper, a rusty & leaking shower that had a truly massive and disgusting hairball clogging the drain, expanded foam all around the toilet base and rust stained towels & washcloth that were very scratchy. Just in case that wasn't enough to scare you away, the breakfast on offer consisted of stale cereal and a milk dispenser that was leaky and battered, the power was turned on & off multiple times on the second day of my stay, the free wi-fi has a 0.1kbps download speed (one fifth the speed of good dial-up) and the walls were so thin and poorly insulated that I got to hear all of the adjoining rooms arguments, sex and TV shows. On the up side it was cheap and there were no vermin, the water was hot, TV worked and I wasn't robbed, but in my estimation these bonus items don't make up for all of the negatives!

Room Tip: choose a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcrae, General Manager at Super 8 Moline, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Hello David W -

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Super 8 Moline.

It is our sincere goal to provide each and every guest with clean and comfortable accommodations. However, on occassion we fail to meet our goal and for this I apologize.

We aprreciate your business and hope you allow us the opportunity in the future to provide your hotel accommodations.

Sincerely,

Brent McRae, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    31
    42
    36
See reviews for
55
16
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I booked my room via the Super 8 online site. When I arrived with my teenaged daughter at 1 in the morning, was told that the reservation only guaranteed "a" room, not necessarily "the" room that I reserved. So the nonsmoking room with two beds (that was confirmed on the reservation that I printed from the online statement) was now one bed in a smoking room.

The manager was very gracious and felt terrible about this. He had a full house and couldn't do much about it though. He did upgrade us to a queen bed in a jacuzzi suite. Of course, people only use jacuzzi suites for one purpose (note huge mirrors by jucuzzi), but we were too tired to care.

Entire facility smelled like tobacco. We weren't in Iowa anymore and apparently Illinois doesn't have a public smoking law like Iowa does.

"Breakfast" was some corn flakes and toast. Might have been a bowl of oranges too. Don't expect much for this price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

rooms smelled bad, air condition didn't work. You get what you paid for!! The beds were terrible, concerned if we didnt get bed bites! I woke up itchy! First thing we were greeted with a sink by the door, thought that was a little weird to put that there! Several police were gathered outside the hotel, someone got arrested for drugs! The rooms appeared to be cleaned just smelled bad!

Room Tip: spend $$ for a better room across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, MS.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I checked in for long-term for outage work at nearby Plant. The price was nice, but the kids running up and down the halls all hours of the night, doors slamming, loud TV’s you could here through the walls left you with very little rest. Rooms are in POOR shape and maid service didn’t replenish coffee packs or cups. After paying for a week in advance the manager wanted to refund me by sending me a check in the mail at a higher room rate, but after some discussion I was paid in cash the same as when I checked in. My advice would be if your staying long-term, find some other place. If you have kids, nice place – just let them run wild with the rest of them up and down the halls and they can PLAY in the fitness room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcrae, Manager at Super 8 Moline, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Hello -

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at the Super 8 Moline. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with a pleasant experience. Unfortunately, on occassion we fail to meet that goal and again we apologize.

We do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to gain your business in the furture.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I was referred here by our local hall at a price of 49.95 when you can get it cheaper from Travelocity or Hotwire.49.95 was not a special rate when it was 26.45 or 32 from the other websites.I explained this to the manager Brent and he was not helpful.I was offered a manager rate that was still higher then the websites.I was then told to do a super8 price match well it wont work when you have no refunds from the other websites.So I guess 2 months of customer loyalty means nothing to you super8.Thank You my fellow workers and I will take our business elsewhere.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcrae, Manager at Super 8 Moline, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Hello -

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here at the Super 8 Moline. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with a positive experience. Unfortunately, on occassion we fail to meet this goal.

We hope you will allow us to gain your business in the future.

Once again, we apologize.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed here for my last night in the USA before flying home, booked in advance and got the advance discount rate.

check-in no problems, only hampered by the guy in front of me who didnt seem to know what he wanted, the desk clerk was very patient with him.

Room was spotless and well-serviced, I think they must have spent some money on the motel recently, the fittings in the room looked new, very clean, everything worked perfectly. Bed very comortable and had a very good nights sleep. A nice touch there was a power outlet built into the base of the desk lamp for the lap-top, a real cool idea I think.

Good location, 20 yards to the Dennys next door so handy for eating out, the big shopping mall behind the motel can be walked to in 5 minutes, very much a up-market mall judging by the prices.Staff very freindly and helpful. wi-fi easy to connect to, a bit slow, but typical for a motel setup.

Overall very pleased with it and reccomend it to anyone.

john, Great Britain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Do not stay at this hotel unless you like hair on your sheets and in your sink and bath tub. Very dirty rooms. Grungy! The continental breakfast area very dirty!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Moline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Moline

Address: 2501 52nd Ave, Moline, IL 61265
Location: United States > Illinois > Moline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Moline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Moline 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Moline is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Fitness Center, and Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with a Complimentary Super Start Breakfast. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Moline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Moline Hotel Moline

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Moline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.