We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hen House Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hen House Restaurant
1250 E Chain Of Rocks Rd, Mitchell, IL 62040
(618) 931-5210
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mitchell
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was good enough but not worth any bragging rights. I had the catfish and they tasted like they were pre-breaded out of a box like you might get at a grocery store.

I can do that at home when I'm in a hurry!

The people were friendly and the place was clean.


If nothing else was open we would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent.

I had the fried catfish and it was some kind of packaged fish. It was served hot, in fact all the food was served hot and pretty quickly, might have waited 10 minutes.

But the catfish was a minor disappointment. I'm sure some of the other entrees are better, but when I ordered catfish, I had something else in mind.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Great Food, but beware of theft potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stopped at the Hen House for a breakfast-type meal at noon. We had a very good meal. BUT...
30 minutes after entering, we left the restaurant and discovered that our car, parked only 20 feet from the front door, in broad daylight had been broken into during a time when several people came in and exited the restaurant.

Thieves had punched in the lock on the driver's door and proceeded to clean us out. We were still 150 mile from home. returning from a week-long trip. Our loss by theft included quality optical equipment, 2 laptops, camera, and clothing. None of this had been in sight, other than the coats on the back seat.

We asked the policeman responding to the call, "What did we do wrong?" He looked around and said, "Nothing, but this restaurant has no cameras; the Denny's across the street does. The thieves knew it."

If a theft of several thousand dollars can be carried out 20 feet from the door during a fairly busy lunch time, this restaurant is not a good choice for most travelers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Finally a restaurant the prides itself on service (Lea) never let our coffee cups or water get empty and from the time we orderd to our food on the table was 10 min and it was right and great prices were more than reasonable we eat out over 200 times a year (we drive a truck) and will always stop in from now on

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great family restaurant. Excellent service. Try the coconut cream pie that our server made herself. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen House Restaurant also viewed

Been to Hen House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hen House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.