We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Vacation 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Metropolis to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Metropolis
Thorsby, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Summer Vacation 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Metropolis on our way to St. Louis. The hotel was clean and comfy. The free breakfast was very good. Before leaving town don't forget to check out the Superman square, this was a cool little town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
39
28
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a great stay overall, front desk was very nice upon check in. Even though we didn't use the pool it did look nice and very clean and the breakfast area looked nice as well. The room was great and bed was comfy, my only complaint is the rooms are a little on the small side but this hotel has so many positives going for it a small room is ok for a night or two. Front desk also was very helpful when I called at 2 A.M. asking for extra pillows and they got them to me in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I love Holiday Inn Express hotels and use them when ever I can. This one is in a nice location right off the interstate in a very quite area for a restful nights sleep. The staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast is good with a nice selection. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean but it is a bit small, hard to close the door while standing in front of the sink. Rates are low compaired to others HIE hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our 15th night of our current trip and 33rd night this year in a hotel, and this was the worst hotel of the year. In fact, we have spent 500 nights in hotels in the last five years, and this one ranks dead last. We mostly stay in Holiday Inn Expresses.

The heater in our room did not work. The heat kept coming out no matter how we set the temperature control. The room would overheat after a few minutes. We discovered this after we were dressed for bed. Rather than getting dressed to change rooms or to let in a maintenance man, I ignored the problem and left the heater off. Our room was quite cold in the morning. I did report the problem to the clerk as we left in the morning.

The eggs were cold at breakfast. The coffee was lukewarm. The pancake machine did produce two good pancakes, so it wasn't all bad. There was no orange juice!!!! I went by McDonald's to get coffee for the road.

In our room, the hotel was using trash bags in the trashcans that were too small (not deep enough). The first time you dropped something heavy in a trashcan, the bag would slip down to the bottom of the can. The refrigerator froze all our bottled drinks even though it was set about halfway between off and max.

I have stayed at this hotel before, but never again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear JoefromOklahoma,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are sorry you were not 100% satisfied with the condition of the heater, room amenities and food options. I truly value your comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a long day on the road it was a pleasure to be greeted so warmly at this hotel. The front desk was friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a larger room, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual fare, but was hot and fresh. We will most certainly stay at this hotel again on our travels.

Room Tip: Always ask for upper floor, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here before & the evening/night staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The pool is currently inoperable. Breakfast was ok - they have a pancake maker but sugar-free syrup (I like my syrup with sugar). The front desk was unmanned this morning and the breakfast Hostess stayed in the back-not the usual experience but the wifi and breakfast were free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear dellasjoy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, KS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at MANY HIE over the years and this one was by far the worst. The carpet in the room was torn. Ice machine did not work. Pool was drained and out of order. Pancake machine in breakfast area was out of order. Management had signs on all of these and of course the management was sorry..... There was one lady working the breakfast area and they were out of just about everything, but they had two ladies behind the front desk helping NO ONE. When my husband asked, the girl behind the front desk said the lady (lone lady filling breakfast area) was taking care of it. The lady working breakfast bar was trying to keep up, but the tables were dirty, they ran out of plates and bowls. It was not very busy either, I would say it was a moderate flow. They even had expired cartons of milk in the refrigerator. When we pointed it out, she removed them and filled it with fresh(er) milk. Not impressed at all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Donna S,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff, the pool and the poor breakfast experience. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Address: I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Metropolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, Illinois. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, IL, is located at the intersection of I-24 and US 45 at exit 37, across the Ohio River, about 7 miles from Paducah, KY. Just minutes from Harrah's Casino on the river, and Fort Massac State Park, host of the 19th century re-enactment, 'The Encampment.' And of course, Metropolis is also the Home of Superman, and features a 15-ft tall statue of Superman and a million dollar Super Museum! We are also the closest town to Mermet Springs/Mermet Lake Conservation Area, where you can go scuba diving, hiking, picnicking, fishing and hunting, all in the same area. Come and enjoy the new Express Start Refresh breakfast bar featuring our cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, crispy bacon strips, sausage patties, biscuits & sausage gravy, yogurt, and Smart Roast coffee, among other items. We also have an indoor pool and spa for your recreation, along with a fitness center. All guest rooms feature the Simply Smart exclusive line of amenities, bedding, and the one and only Stay Smart shower head. Passing through or visiting Metropolis, IL? Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel.We are situated just outside Paducah, KY, about half way between St. Louis, MO, and Nashville, TN, posing as an ideal overnight stop for long-distance travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Holiday Inn Metropolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.