We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Metropolis to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Metropolis
florida
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Top notch service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We left Florida and drove 12 hours straight, we arrived late. The service was top notch, we were warmly welcomed and since we are Platinum member we received some nice treats and water. The rooms were very clean, fresh and everything in the room worked perfectly. We went down for breakfast right at 6:30 am and breakfast was ready to go, no waiting. They had all the breakfast items that Holiday Inn Express normally has and everything was well stocked, hot and clean. We would stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
25
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
elgin, il
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stopped here one night on our way home from Florida. Room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Bed was super! Breakfast area was clean and attractive and breakfast was fine. Staff was friendly and efficient. We will stay here again. Stop at the wayside park off the interstate and take your photo as Superman!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brew_cru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stopped here for one night on a long road trip. Our room was nice, and the kids enjoyed the complimentary fresh-baked cookies and the pool.

The location is definitely out of the way, even for a small town. It's a several mile drive to the nearest restaurant, so we opted for delivery for dinner.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a one night "on the road" stay at this property after driving -all day- N to S across Illinois. The hotel was fine, gave us an upgrade due to our Platinum status. Room was clean and morning breakfast was OK. So since this is a review of the property we'll rate it satisfactory but a word of warning if you want to grab a bite it's pretty much fast food hamburgers and pizza hut, nothing we could find via trip advisor or urban spoon worth eating at in the the town a mile west of the hotel (there is a casino but the restaurant was expensive and not rated highly).

Room Tip: Get as far west as you can away from the interstate noise. A backside room away from the 2 lane roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Every two years we head to Metropolis to see family. We've been going back to this HIE for the past 12 or so. Usually, 10-15 rooms are booked by our family when we arrive. I can't say enough about the staff. Very friendly, each year we've been, and willing to accommodate early/late arrivals, extra towels, etc. It is a standard hotel room, nothing frilly, but then again, why would you need that in Metropolis? The breakfast is very good. They are quick to replace items that are out. Cinnamon buns are exceptionally good! However, this past summer, their new pancake machine was not working!!! We were really bummed at that. My kids are talking about coming back in two years just to try it! The only other downside is that they often put too much chlorine in the pool. You need to shower immediately after getting out if you don't want to itch for hours. However, that did not stop us from using it three days in a row. Also, open the rear sliding doors if it gets too steamy. I'd recommend Yesterday's BBQ on 10th street. Also very friendly and accommodating. Down near Superman Square, which is a must see too, is Farley's cafeteria. Most of their food is homemade. Not much atmosphere, but you can get some good home-cooked grub.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a stop on the way to Florida. The staff was friendly and efficient. The location was very convenient. Glad we stopped.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunnel Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We love antiques qnd there was a good place on the same road about 1/10 of a mile from us, we walked to it. We did the Tunnel Hill State Bike Trail and this was a good place to use as base. Close to Paducah,Ky. and other great antique stores and historical places as well.
The bed was VERY comfortable after several hours on the bike trail and the whirlpool felt good on our weary bones,followed by a dip in the well maintained pool.
The mornings were great because of the very good breakfast bar and of course the cinnamon rolls are always a must have item! My wife really loves the new pancake machines that HIE's have recently acquired. Over all this was a good experience at this HIE.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Address: I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Metropolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, Illinois. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, IL, is located at the intersection of I-24 and US 45 at exit 37, across the Ohio River, about 7 miles from Paducah, KY. Just minutes from Harrah's Casino on the river, and Fort Massac State Park, host of the 19th century re-enactment, 'The Encampment.' And of course, Metropolis is also the Home of Superman, and features a 15-ft tall statue of Superman and a million dollar Super Museum! We are also the closest town to Mermet Springs/Mermet Lake Conservation Area, where you can go scuba diving, hiking, picnicking, fishing and hunting, all in the same area. Come and enjoy the new Express Start Refresh breakfast bar featuring our cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, crispy bacon strips, sausage patties, biscuits & sausage gravy, yogurt, and Smart Roast coffee, among other items. We also have an indoor pool and spa for your recreation, along with a fitness center. All guest rooms feature the Simply Smart exclusive line of amenities, bedding, and the one and only Stay Smart shower head. Passing through or visiting Metropolis, IL? Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel.We are situated just outside Paducah, KY, about half way between St. Louis, MO, and Nashville, TN, posing as an ideal overnight stop for long-distance travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Holiday Inn Metropolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.