We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was nice clean and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Metropolis Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Metropolis Casino to your Saves list
Harrah's Metropolis Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Front St., Metropolis, IL 62960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Metropolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The room was nice clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Only stayed one night, but was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel room. The bed was comfortable,.the service was comfortable, and I am picky. Did not eat there. Valet was fast. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    23
    8
    18
See reviews for
41
91
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Radcliff, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wanted to getaway for a long weekend and hectic work schedule and decided to go to Metropolis after watching the "Man of Steel" . What a great time we had!!! Hotel very clean, quiet and with a terrific view of the OH river. THe fireworks on the 4th were amazing. The locals were very friendly. The hotel staff is second to none!! Received by Chuck at the valet with a big smile and great tips on where to eat. The check in staff was superb. The buffet was delicious. The casino is a little dated and too many machines makes it crowded but it was an added bonus for passing some of the time when we wanted to stretch our legs. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 5- 7th floors on the right side, you do not want to miss the OHIO River view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a great stay in the Hotel. Very clean, fresh linens, and quiet, (flat screens would be nice to have) Plenty of wall outlets for my electronics. Casino a little small and the slots need to be looser but still had a great time! Best buffet I've had in a long time!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I drive to Harrah's Metropolis from Nashville about once a month and always have nice time. Most of the time have free buffet coupons that are sent in the mail to regular players each month. We both love love love the no smoking in the casino. Yes, it's old and a bit dated, but plenty of game selection for virtually most tastes. The staff is outstanding every time I have been there. If I had to find a flaw, the 3rd floor bar is rarely staffed when we go there, and the poker slots at the bar have smaller payout than traditional machines. I have been to casinos in every part of the country, and I win here as consistently as any place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

On our way home from the gulf shore, we stopped at Harrah's Metropolis. The first time we stayed here was after it first opened. We were very pleased to see that the quality and care remains. Check-in was very smooth and quick. A bell man asked if we needed assistance we our bags. The room was a junior suite with a river view. VERY CLEAN. Great bathroom and also very clean. Dinner options were limited. We had grilled cheese sandwiches at the little diner just outside of the casino. Surprisingly tasty. Casino is smoke free, an Illinois rule which we really appreciate, but on the small side. Breakfast is not included in the room but only costs $8, and if you have a players card, you can pay with points. It was good and fresh. Overall a great hotel and good time. We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The casino was on the small side, but there was a fair selection of games. Did not see any video poker with decent pay schedules. However, several of the machines seemed to hit four of a kind fairly often which kept me playing most of the night. The second night I was there several jackpots hit on slot machines. I ate at the burger joint located on the first floor of the casino. The burgers were quite tasty. The hotel was nice. The free valet parking for hotel guests was a nice touch. The rooms were average sized. The beds were comfortable. There was a fridge in the room. Free internet in the rooms. One of the nicest things about the room was the air conditioning. It was located such that it kept the room cool without subjecting you to being in a constant breeze of cold air. Like most hotels you heard everything people were saying as they walked past your door. I did not hear anything from the rooms on either side of me or above me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent last night at Harrah's hotel and casino in Metropolis. Our room was clean, quiet, nice linens, and a comfortable bed. The casino is older but comfortable and on a boat on the river (a must in Illinois). We spent the evening playing slot machines and had a good time. A good time at a casino for me is to get to play for a few hours on my allotted money. A bad time is when you blow through your money and you've only been playing a short time. Also had a great dinner at the Range Steakhouse in the casino.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Metropolis Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Metropolis Casino

Address: 100 East Front St., Metropolis, IL 62960
Location: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Metropolis Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Metropolis Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Harrahs Metropolis Hotel
Harrahs Hotel Metropolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Metropolis Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.