We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite local restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of After the Fox

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
After the Fox
1406 N. Riverside Drive, McHenry, IL 60050
815-344-3760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 98 Restaurants in McHenry
Restaurant details
McHenry, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of our favorite local restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I visit After the Fox 2-4 times a month. We love their fish options on Friday nights. I'm not a big fan of fried fish but my husband is and they always have other fish options available for me. Their soups are homemade and wonderful! We enjoy their burgers and have had great prime rib. We tried their Sunday brunch and honestly were not impressed so I recommend lunch or dinner here. It is a very casual restaurant with a nice view of the river and docks for those who are boating. There is one large outdoor table, but we usually sit inside and enjoy the view. If you go on Friday or Saturday night ask for Cheryl. She always takes excellent care of us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“McHenry Staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the first places my husband took me for breakfast after getting married was here. Tiny restaurant with quite a history in McHenry. Breakfast is always fast and yummy with friendly staff

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for a casual evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I joined 2 friends at this restaurant for dinner. The atmosphere is not fancy but nice. The waitress was very attentive. I had their rib dinner which was good; not outstanding like in the city of Chicago, but tender and very meaty. My husband had a steak, which was also good though a little salty. We had a table by the window so that we could look out at the Fox River, which was nice. We will definitely return here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sitting right on the river. Large deck but seemed to be only one big table out there. View from
inside table was excellent watching boats go by. Service was good and friendly. Italian beef and tator tot special on my day, very good. Mainly a bar atmosphere with tables to serve food, but it works in this setting. Try the lemonade!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After the Fox also viewed

 

Been to After the Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After the Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.