We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money--will definitely stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - McHenry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn - McHenry to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - McHenry
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1555 South Route 31, McHenry, IL 60050   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McHenry
central Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the money--will definitely stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Checked in late on Saturday (with no reservation) for a one-night stay. Desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. Pleasantly surprised at the size of our room (2 queen beds)--quite spacious. Comfy beds--good night's sleep. Breakfast was MUCH more than expected--waffle iron to make waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, muffins, coffee, various juices. Pool and hot tub are nice---little too much chlorine in hot tub (stung our eyes). Overall, an excellent experience for the money. Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    54
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
28
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I stayed at the McHenry, IL Hampton with my girlfriend while in the area for a family get together. Hotel staff was very friendly, and the rooms were nicely kept.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I have stayed at many Hampton Inns in the past 5 years and this McHenry Hampton is one of the finest. The room was clean clean clean!!!!. I have found Hampton Inns have the most comfortable beds. No loss of sleep on my trip. As soon as you hit the pillow Zzzzzz. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. . The complimentary breakfast was superb, with a great selection of fresh items. The coffee is hot and tasty. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Very friendly and cheerful. One girl working the breakfast area asked if I slept well. The front desk clerk offered me an umbrella too. Wow! Check in was smooth and quick. I visit Chicago on business every 8 - 10 months. This was the first stay at the Hampton in McHenry but not the last. 5 stars!!! Very satisfied with my trip. Try this hotel, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

The friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome and at home. The beds and pillows are the most comfortable I've ever experienced when traveling-a must try! Complimentary breakfast was fresh and enjoyable and even though there isn't a restaurant in the actual hotel, the steak house right across the parking lot serves the best tropical martinis and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel is a pleasure to visit. The staff is friendly yet very professional. The grounds are attractively landscaped, the lobby is warm and inviting, the rooms have beds which are second to none, the towels bright white and fluffy! We find the complimentary breakfast very enjoyable - a great cup of coffee, fresh pastries, juice and other items add to the great value of our stay. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch/dinner, there is a great restaurant only steps away from their front door. Our hats off to the General Manager and Staff of this hotel - again, the best Hampton we have found - and we travel a lot!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinav123, General Manager at Hampton Inn - McHenry, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

The big surprise here is that this property is in such a low category according to Hilton. This is one of the very best Hamptons, and I've stayed at over 100 of them. The lobby and breakfast area is huge and the FLW decor is nice throughout. The breakfast and rooms were excellent, with larger rooms than at other Hamptons. You can't go wrong with this fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

Can't really review it, since they overbooked and sent me down the street to Comfort Inn, which was, actually a very nice hotel!
But not sure I would book here again - especially when I need to rely on having a hotel room when in the area.

  • Liked — The desk clerk was friendly and helpful and apologetic.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - McHenry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - McHenry

Address: 1555 South Route 31, McHenry, IL 60050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - McHenry 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn - McHenry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Mchenry Hotel Mchenry
Mchenry Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - McHenry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.