We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for Valentine's Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marzano's Woodfired Italian

Marzano's Woodfired Italian
1501 S Il Route 31, McHenry, IL 60050
815-578-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 99 Restaurants in McHenry
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely for Valentine's Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our 3rd or 4th visit to Marzano's, and we were not, for the most part, disappointed. The bread was wonderful, the Berrytini sweet, cold and effective. My Butternut Squash Ravioli plentiful, more than twice the ravioli's than any other Italian restaurant had ever served me. Altho I think a different sauce, rather than the extreme amount of butter, would be more appealing, but it's still one of my favorite dishes. My husband had the Chicken Parm, and everytimg we wonder at the amazing size of the chicken breast! We went on Valentine's Day for dinner, and since we eat quite early, it was not crowded yet at 4:30, but by the time we left at around 6, it was crowding up. Our server was Erica B. was very attentive, and we never felt forgotten. I would have given 5 stars, but the Ceasar Salad (extra $2) was limp and seemed to have been sitting out for a while, there were quite a few pieces of lettuce that were browning and unappealing - there were also a lot of romaine lettuce spines. Just once I'd like to get a salad that isn't more spine than leaves. We will be back, altho we live about 20 miles away so not often - mostly for special occasions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Entry, Good Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The other night we were craving some good Italian food. We went to Marzano's and had a pleasant experience. We started with the Fried Calamari which was perfectly cooked and nicely presented. We also had the Fried Mozzarella sticks with Marinara Sauce. Delicious. Drinks were good, a well made Dirty Martini with stuffed blue cheese olives, the olives being firm and with perfect taste. The Merlot good. Spaghetti and meatballs were excellent, the fettuccine sauce a bit weak. The Baked Ziti wonderful, as well as the freshly baked bread. The Spaghetti Carbonara was a huge disappointment. There was a most definite lack the egg cheese finish. It was instead a watery sauce of some kind. There is a real art to this dish and many restaurants do not attempt it. I was surprised and delighted to see it on the menu. It was really not anything like it was supposed to be.

Dessert of the Banana Tiramisu was an excellent new taste. The chocolate cake with a milk chaser a disappointment. It was not really a piece of chocolate cake in the traditional sense. It was an undressed, unfrosted chocolate cupcake with a smidge of ice cream on the top. We had to ask for the milk as they forgot it.

Service was adequate, but the place was not busy, it was a Saturday night. I think that was very telling. It seems that some work needs to be done with the menu and also a bit of tweaking with staff. We did not have any pizza there, but saw many customers with that and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. We may have been there on an off night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have eaten here several times since it opened including Mother's Day Brunch. It was fantastic. I loved it each and every time. Brunch was fantastic, but they only have it 2 times a year at Easter and Mother's Day. Friday night fish fry was exceptional. The Scallops over Risoto was so good. I crave it and want to go back for that. We've also tried the butternut squash raviolli. Yum! Short ribs with Garlic mashed potatoes. Another winner. We have never had any problems with service. I tell everyone to try it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal lake, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Italian?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Why would you go to the trouble of bringing in an authentic Italian wood-fire pizza oven, have a chef be certified to use this oven and then strive for mediocrity? What authentic Italian restaurant serves an iceberg lettuce/red cabbage salad? Pizza was ok, wine by the glass too expensive, our draft beer seemed stale, salad was abysmal. Nice looking restaurant, our waitperson was very nice & recommended items for us to try. It was a nice summer nite & outdoor patio was closed. This is probably the best restaurant in McHenry. We will not be trying it again...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
“Olive Garden Is Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have tried Marzanos a few times hoping for better food. Honestly,the food is disappointing and the service is slow. I am okay with paying for good wine, but when you charge $9 a glass the glass should have more than 4 ounces in it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marzano's Woodfired Italian also viewed

 

Been to Marzano's Woodfired Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marzano's Woodfired Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.