We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, just off the interstate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Mattoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Mattoon to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Mattoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1416 Broadway Ave. East, Mattoon, IL 61938   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Decatur, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice spot, just off the interstate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Clean, well maintained hotel. Traveled with my nieces and got the spot next door to the pool which they loved. The hotel is conveniently located off the interstate with shopping and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Unlike a lot of hotels, even located next to the breakfast area and pool we heard very little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. Happy to see your nieces had a great time in the pool. If there is anything you can think of that could make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    50
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
31
18
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stopped at the Mattoon Hampton Inn after a very long day on the road. Jo at the front desk was very nice about a special request. Beautiful room and my benchmark for a great ammenity,a bathroom nightlight was met, Great night on the gold standard Hampton Inn's bed. keep up the good work

Room Tip: 3rd floor in back, away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you as our guest. I was happy to see that Jo was able to accommodate your request to ensure a pleasant stay. I will sure to pass this along to the rest of our staff. Thank you for staying at the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope you get a chance to stay with us again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel staff is vey pleasant and has always provided excellant service and care. We make many trips to the area as we have two children at Eastern Illinois University which makes the stay at this hotel quite convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel was great. stayed on 3rd floor it was quite. The kids enjoyed swimming. The breakfast was great. The hotel was close to the town. Many restaurant around. We will stay here again and with there 100% money back guarantee if your not happy you don't have to pay!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I'm happy to see you had a great stay. I'm also glad to hear your kids enjoyed swimming. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn. We're so glad we can be your friend in town.

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We couldn't get rooms in Bloomington or any of the large nearby cities, so we headed for Mattoon. This conveniently located Hampton Inn did not disappoint. And Lincoln's log cabin is nearby. Hampton Inns are pretty much alike, but as far as convenience, comfort, and cleanliness, this is one of the nicest. The hotel staff was very welcoming.

Room Tip: We didn't hear any noise from the highway and we were in a middle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are always happy to hear about our guest's experiences. I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your review with our staff. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times over the course of several years. They've always been considerate and accommodating. Although there are several hotels to select from in this area, we constantly seek out this one. It is comfortable, friendly, clean, and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always love hearing feedback from our repeat guests. It is always nice to know that our hard work is noticed. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

You have a verry friendly staff. Robin I think that was her name. she was always so nice and friendly.. the rooms are nice and clean and close to the interstate for quick axcess.

love the hotel keep up with the service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MTOIL, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mattoon, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We always appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff. Thank you for choosing the Mattoon Hampton Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

Kim Fanelli
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Mattoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mattoon

Address: 1416 Broadway Ave. East, Mattoon, IL 61938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mattoon
#2 Family Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hampton Inn Mattoon, IL hotel, located just 2 miles from downtown and close to many restaurants and shopping, including the Tanger Outlet Center. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Mattoon Hotel Mattoon
Mattoon Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Mattoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.