We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peanuts on the floor style steakhouse,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's Road House

Cody's Road House
1320 Broadway Avenue East, Mattoon, IL 61938
217-235-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 58 Restaurants in Mattoon
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Peanuts on the floor style steakhouse,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Service is friendly but not always attentive, We eat here a couple times a year on trips and the food is consistently good, not great. Same for this visit. Good cold draft beers. It's by the hotel we use so it's easy to walk over and we like the food, it's just that you somehow think everything should be just a little better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    34
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Service is quick and efficient. My wife had the white chili. I keep telling her to order something other than chili because they don't fix it the way we do in the south. I had the ribeye sandwich and fries and it was a lot better than a hamburger. Good draft beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not Bad If You Like The Smokey Barbeque Flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cody's is a local restaurant, not affiliated with any chains. However it reminded me a lot of a Texas Roadhouse-type restaurant, with peanuts to munch on while waiting to be seated. Lots of smoked and barbequed foods were on the menu. I wanted to try something different, so chose the Smokehouse Chicken & Pasta. It was chunks of pan fried chicken breast, cooked with mushrooms and simmered in a light cream sauce, served over pasta. It had a distinctly different, smokey flavor, and was fairly tasty. It came with one side, which you could choose from a list of items. I chose the baked beans, which were very flavorful, with a barbeque flavor. Warm rolls were served with dinner, and came with both regular and cinnamon butter. I found the cinnamon butter a nice change of pace, and wasn't overly cinnamony. My friends both had the pulled pork sandwich, which came with fries and the baked beans, and said it was ok as well. We had a very nice waitress by the name of Peyton, who was very attentive and friendly. I'd suggest giving Cody's a try if you are hungry for something smokey or barbequed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have been there a handful of times. Every time I think it is way overpriced for the quality of the food. The service is good, but not great. The food is just ok.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great food! Great service! We were in a record heatwave when we stopped in for a bite to eat. Waitress was constantly busy filling everyones water glasses to stay hydrated. Food was what you'd expect from a 5 star restaurant. Would definitely go back if in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Road House also viewed

 

Been to Cody's Road House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's Road House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.