We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Vaquero

El Vaquero
200 Holiday Dr, Mattoon, IL 61938
217-234-7290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Mattoon
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mattoon, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Always good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although they could use more seating, this restaurant has some delicious authentic Mexican cuisine. They have added an outdoor dining room for the warmer months which helps with seating. Always good food and good service. Great Margarita's.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great service and Great food! Plain simple fact GREAT! Our boys love this place and we have to agree! Every chance we get we are there!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb Cty
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Pretty similar to other Mexican restaurants Ive been to. Food wad pretty tasty. Ordered a chicken dish with cheese and mushrooms and cheese. Vegetables were overcooked, burnt and really laden with fat. chicken really thin and overcooked. The rice and beans were tasty as were the chips and salsa. Will probably try Cody's next time as others in our group enjoyed that and spoke highly of it. Service was great and super quick. Hubby haf skeak tacos and was pleased with them.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We purchased take out and had to drive home with it and it was still hot hot hot when we arrived home to plate it up. The salsa was a little off but normally so delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BOOM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The food is Great, the survice is Great. My glass would get a little less then 1/2 an they come and ask if I need.....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vaquero also viewed

 

Been to El Vaquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vaquero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.