We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect one night stop on my way down South” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Swords Drive, Mattoon, IL 61938   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Mattoon
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Perfect one night stop on my way down South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times on my way further south. It is very easy to get to right off the highway and there are several places to eat and get gas right next to the hotel. The staff is always friendly when you check in. This past stay, they even called up to my room about 30 minutes after we checked in to make sure everything was fine with our room. I've never had that happen before! The breakfast is the normal continental breakfast, but the area was clean and just overall nice. The hotel also allows dogs which is a plus for us as we were traveling with our dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Valued Guest, thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel and also for taking time to post on TripAdvisor! We stress to our employees how important that every guest receive the best overall experience possible! We realize there are many other lodging choices and thank you for choosing us! We look forward to seeing you and your dog again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
16
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I don't give many excellent ratings but this hotel deserves it. Everything was great and I had no complaints. Hotel is well maintained, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly. The breakfast area was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to post this positive review! We try daily to make the guests experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I am pleased to hear you were well taken care of here on your stay. We hope you are a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night while passing through our way home from Florida. The hotel is convenient to I-57. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean -- we had a 2-Queen suite which included a fridge, microwave, sofa bed, table, desk, etc. The front desk girl was very friendly and efficient. She told us that the hotel is about 5 years old, which we were surprised by as it looks brand new. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and clean too. There are several restaurants in the immediate area (chains like Steak & Shake and Cracker Barrel).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you so much for your positive review and I am glad that you were so pleased! We strive to make sure the guests are well taken care of with good service! If the opportunity arises we would love for you to come stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUSTICE, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let me start off by saying great employees make the hotel a better place and this hotel has them! There was some confusion with my reservation and Courtney Scoles was the first one to help me out over the phone. Then when I arrived and the matter had to be called into priority rewards Sarah Minix and Stephnie Packer(GM) went out of their way to insure the matter was handled efficently. Thanks for all your help! The room was exceptional, service and food for continental breakfast outstanding too bad my son is graduating or I would keep coming back....

Room Tip: Stay in a suite they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and property! We take pride in being able to say we do all we can for the guest, and I'm glad we were able to help! If you ever find yourself traveling this way we would love to have you stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checking in was easy and very friendly service. The hotel is by the interstate and many restaurants. Only 10 minutes from the high school we were competing at. I would stay there again. Morning breakfast was very good, rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable, and shower was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review! Our staff takes pride in trying to make every stay a great experience! I'm glad your stay was convenient and we hope to see your team again!
Delia Bunyard
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff. The property was immaculate and well maintained. The room was clean. The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping. The bed was very comfortable.

If you're looking for a place to stay in Mattoon, stay here. I've also stayed at the Hampton Inn in Mattoon. This property is just as good. I would stay again here or at the Hampton Inn (wherever I could get the best rate).

If you're traveling the I-57 corridor and looking for a place to stay, I'd rather stay in Mattoon than Mt. Vernon. It's a lot more convenient to get on and off the interstate, the dining and shopping is similar for national chains and Mattoon, while smaller, just seems cleaner and safer.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is such that the elevators are in a small hallway off the main corridor so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the kind words about our property. We value cleanliness and pride in pleasing our guests. We hope your travels bring you in our diresction again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta, mn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Holiday Inn was great. The staff was very friendly and the room was exceptionally clean (and we are we are picky). Breakfast more than we expected. We would definitely stay here again. My wife and I do a lot of road trips so we have a lot to compare with in all parts of the country.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our staff! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Sara G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Address: 121 Swords Drive, Mattoon, IL 61938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mattoon
#2 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Mattoon, Illinois boasts excellent facilities! Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mattoon near Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University. Our Mattoon, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers. Families looking for lodging in Mattoon, Illinois will not be disappointed by our hotel, located just off I-57 between Effingham and Champaign. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, including the Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, Fox Ridge State Park and the Douglas-Hart Nature Center. Other nearby activities include Lake Mattoon, the Rockome Gardens and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our Mattoon, IL accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Mattoon, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including RR Donnelley, Mediacom, Lender's Bagel Company and the Sarah Bush Lincoln Medical Center. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch. While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Mattoon, IL hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mattoon
Holiday Inn Express Mattoon
Mattoon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.