We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIEVES!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Swords Drive, Mattoon, IL 61938   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Hamersville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THIEVES!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My sister and I had reservations for a few days in the month of november 2012, I called the hotel direct in october 2012 @ (217) 235-2060 because I never book a hotel without speaking to them direct finding out the age of the hotel, etc.Went I went to cancel because i came down with the flu and could not drive 6 hours, I was told that the reservation was booked through expedia!!!!! I explained that I called the hotel direct and I had never in my life booked through a 3RD party company with that they pretty much called me a LIAR and stated they would not refund me the full amount on my credit card because I had gone past the time frame to call and cancel. I explained to Stephanie the manger that in fact I did call in plenty of time but the the evening I called they had NO manager on duty to handle the situation, the employee on duty could not even locate the customer service number. BAD BUSINESS!!! I will never book at this Holiday Inn Express again!!!! I'm not even sure why they have a customer service department when you call them their answer is each hotel in owned by different owners so you are at their mercy. Not knowing for sure how to let other customers know my experiene I called the Matton Chamber of Commerce they suggested I post a review and also stated I could call the BBB and the Attorney Generals Office, thats my next stop. SO TAKE CAUTION WHEN YOU BOOK AT THIS HOTEL.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your reservation. As you stated in our conversation, your Verizon phone bill showed that the number you called on October 16 was (217) 234-4267. This number does not belong to the Holiday Inn Express. The reservation in our system came from Expedia. As you verified in our conversation, the credit card number we have does not belong to you. When a reservation is made through Expedia, the only billing information that we receive is a credit card number that belongs to Expedia. As can be verified by your credit card statement or bank statement, the charges to your card were made by Expedia and therefore would have to be credited by Expedia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
20
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for work, and it was an average Holiday Inn with good rooms and the standard breakfast (and great cookies!) but the best part is their customer service. I left a favorite large, bulky coat in my room. I called them and frantically asked for them to send it! They took my credit card on file, charged me for postage and shipped it to me; it arrived safe and sound at my apartment a week later. Thank you Holiday Inn!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are very happy to hear that your coat arrived safely at your home. In today's world and all the choices we have in lodging, we understand that Customer Service is a #1 priority in the Hospitality Business. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Please be our guest again when your travels bring you to the Mattoon area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
290 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was struck by the fact that this property is where it is. Nice to have a hotel between some of the other areas of Illinois. I appreciate not having to drive to a major city to find lodging. Right off the interstate was excellent. Being next to Cracker Barrel made it possible to have a good meal without adding more drive time. Very clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing away from the entrance was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanking you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at hotel and strive to make every stay a pleasant stay. As you travel through again, please stop and be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is simple but clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel in conveniently located near the interstate and several restaurants nearby. The breakfast buffet had enough variety to please most guests.

After staying at another hotel in town in the past, this Holiday Inn Express is the nicest place in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. A clean, quiet and pleasant stay is the experience we work to provide each of our guests. The time you spent posting your comments in this website is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a nice clean hotel up to the standards that you would expect at a Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast was timely and well-stocked. It is easily accessible from the interstate. The soundproofing must be good as we stayed next to a stairwell. I was hesitant, but never heard a thing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on your stay at our hotel. Everyday we stress to our employees how important it is to be sure that every guest has a fantastic stay. It is very rewarding to hear that you did enjoy your stay at our hotel. We hope that if you are in the area in future that you return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arlene, the breakfast attendant, was the highlight of our stay. She kept the area spotless while serving coffee and greeting the guests, refilled food items while helping children make their pancakes. Yes, the ladies who checked us in and out were very friendly. Our room was spotless. But, in the morning Arlene was the one who started our day with her friendliness. She was awesome. In fact, she is the best breakfast attendant we have had in all the years we have traveled. We hope the management realizes what a treasure they have in Arlene.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kinds words about our staff! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very aware that Arlene goes above and beyond to make sure the guest have the best overall experience. She is a very valuable member of our staff and we are grateful to have her. We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and hope we will see you again soon.

Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Nice accommodation and very pet friendly. A pet smart store is right across the grassy field. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Highly recommend if you have a pet with you. Easy access off the I-57 highway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are really we were able to accomadate you and your pet and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#1 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#4 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Mattoon
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Mattoon
Days Inn Mattoon
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn - Charleston
Days Inn - Charleston
#1 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Address: 121 Swords Drive, Mattoon, IL 61938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#4 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Mattoon, Illinois boasts excellent facilities! Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mattoon near Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University. Our Mattoon, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers. Families looking for lodging in Mattoon, Illinois will not be disappointed by our hotel, located just off I-57 between Effingham and Champaign. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, including the Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, Fox Ridge State Park and the Douglas-Hart Nature Center. Other nearby activities include Lake Mattoon, the Rockome Gardens and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our Mattoon, IL accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Mattoon, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including RR Donnelley, Mediacom, Lender's Bagel Company and the Sarah Bush Lincoln Medical Center. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch. While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Mattoon, IL hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mattoon
Holiday Inn Express Mattoon
Mattoon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.