We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and clean room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20920 Matteson Avenue, Matteson, IL 60443   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matteson
Charleston, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and clean room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hampton has recently been doing updating and remodeling and our King room was in excellent shape-everything fresh and comfortable bed with clean everything. However, the reason for the 5 stars was the lady at the check in/check out-MIchelle (sp?) WOW! She was friendly, efficient, and helpful. There was a minor issue in our room,nothing to cause us discomfort but we thought we should let her know. She was apologetic and even presented us with a small travel bag- bottled water and some goodies - by way of apology for our inconvenience. MIchelle is definitley a strong ambassador for Hilton and for this Hampton. Definitely a treasure they should value. Also, there is a commuter train that goes from Matteson into the City of Chicago. I'd say stay here- spend the day in Chicago, and come back at end of the day-- MUCH cheaper, safer, and easier with much less city stress.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We will share your positive review with Michelle. Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and to give us such nice compliments. We look forward to your next visit here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    55
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
82
26
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After quite a few years in using accommodation's from the Hilton consortium, we still find the Hampton Inns the model of convenience, location, friendliness and comfort. In addition, we have noticed that the older locations are updating the creature comfort areas, i.e. the breakfast and lounge areas

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson would like to thank you for such a good review of our product. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I was traveling through the area on my way home from a business trip. I just needed a nice quiet place to get a good nights sleep. This place fit the bill. I always sleep well in Hampton Inn beds. It was clean, very conveniently located and near shopping and restaurants. Staff was uniformly friendly and professional. Only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that the room and amenities weren't what they could have been. There was wear and tear in places and I found several pins on the floor, the kind you remove from a new dress shirt. The vacuum probably didn't pick them up. Other than that the room was nice and clean. No road noise in my room even though it was close to the interstate.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
We are glad to have provided you with the good nights sleep you needed and we hope to be seeing you again on your next trip our way. Thank you for your business and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times, and it's been consistently well maintained. The staff are friendly. The complimentary breakfast is good, and the eating area is clean. I will continue to stay here while visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you for being a return guest here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson. Your review and your business are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

My mother retired Army has stayed at this location several times. We've been thru at least 2diff management staff changes. I live here in matteson and my mom Ga. We'll we decided that we'd allow my daughter to leave for a her prom from the hotel! We unfortunately reserved the rooms then decided we were gonna need a banquet room since she w/b leaving from the Hampton inn. While my daughter was being dressed, my guest were approached about being in the wrong room, and paying xtra money! The ppl that bookd the room myself and mom weren't approached until
My guest began going in there purses to pay xtra. When I came dwn stairs to investigate, I was approached by a mean ugly short ghetto, loud rude woman sayn "she was the GM and that I knew I was in the wrong room" She told me that I was given a tour when I bookd the room. "The room her staffer directed me too" and I never viewed bc it was reserved over the phone! An argument between she and I ensued and she then threaten to have me removed from the hotel. She left went bck behind the desk and discovered that we in fact was never given a tour! Went to that banquet room bc her staffer made a mistake. When I askd for an apology she refused. We had book roomssssssss for the entire wkend for a "PROM" we had an up and coming celebrity makeup artist from a studio in the building. There were parishioners from my daughter church that is located directly across the street from this hotel. A celebrity professional photographer of homewood I'll. We have lived in matteson for over 40yrs! (9) families here and have never been embrassed or treated in such a way! Everyone walkd away sayn how they'd never come bck there. It's like she became even more vicious when I stopped my guest from giving her money! My daughter was in tears! She was in the 1st graduating class at Sputhland college prep. I was horrified, absolutely disgusted. Even when Corp ask her to apology she lied and said she did! She's a liar and needs to be fired! Every time someone suggest this hotel I'll always warn them that the management is deplorable, and don't waste your money. I'll never never never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice stay started at reception. Pleasant young lady offered free cold bottle of water. Luggage carts by the door came in handy. Several restaurants close, as was shopping. Property is about 5 yrs old.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review of our property the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson. We are glad you enjoyed your water and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

VERY comfortable bed and clean linens. The complimentary breakfast is satisfying and the "grab and go" snack bags are terrific for travelers. A complimentary bottle of water on arrival is a nice touch - especially after a long ride.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson. Thank you for such a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson

Address: 20920 Matteson Avenue, Matteson, IL 60443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Matteson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matteson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just off of I-57, the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland - Matteson hotel in Matteson, IL is your perfect choice just outside of downtown Chicago. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson Hotel Matteson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.