We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 year old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20920 Matteson Avenue, Matteson, IL 60443   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matteson
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“3 year old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice building, good location, clean facilities. We had an issue with there being an open pool party on Saturday evening and no service personnel where even checking in on the group. There were no towels left, no seating for registered guests and they stated the party would be done and cleared by 8 PM. The pool hours were only to 10 and it was closed early (9:40) for some reason. Really nice continental breakfast with different entries on each day. Check on line room rate for best deal, better than calling for reservations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our pool and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback which is essential to our future success! But it is nice to hear we have a nice building, good location, clean facilities. . We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and warmly welcome you back as soon as your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    55
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
82
26
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matteson, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff is awsome. Best hotel in the Matteson area. Would definatley staff again. We stay at this hotel every year for my daughters birthday. The staff is very accomodating. We love this hotel. Janelle, Brandon, and Shawnquie are awsome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
 We're always looking for ways to identify star performers on our team here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson and will share your positive review with them. Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewanee, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very happy with the room....lots of space! We were travelling with 3 kids (12,11,and 7) and everyone had enough space to relax. Hotel staff very friendly, efficient, and helpful. Breakfast was good, both in quality and variety. Would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson would like to thank you for your nice review.
We look forward to seeing you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynwood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has a very warm atmosphere and you won't go wrong in making your decision. If you are looking for a comfortable stay, well this is your hotel. They did offer Wifi and a connection set up right in the room. For the kids: they had all you can eat breakfast. The swimming pool is only 4'6. So it's not that deep for you all that can't swim. The children loved it. Very clean. Kept sanitized by the worker. The swim area was very quiet. Also they have a nice little workout area for you health-a-holics. Loved it! Thanks

Room Tip: The last room on the 3rd floor wasn't bad after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the pool here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson during your stay with us. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed three nights at this hotel. Found it to be comfortable, with a friendly staff, generally quiet rooms, very good breakfast buffet and clean. Only complaint was that the "high speed internet' was far from high speed at any time during the stay. Download speeds were ,31 to .25 MBS, not fast enough. Would stay again.;

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson. Please return often! We are looking at the internet and will be trying to speed it up. Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

They have signs posted everywhere saying "if you didn't like your stay we will give you a night for free". There were kids left alone in the room above us jumping off the beds all day and most of the night. I called down to the front desk many times, and even went down a couple times to complain, but the kids didn't stop till 2 in the morning. When I went down to the front desk the next morning to pay I told them I had a horrible night, they said since I went through a different website to pay they weren't going to give me a free night. They took down my information saying they would do what they could, but I never got the free night they advertise. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
 Unfortunately, it’s clear from the guest rating you were not pleased with your stay. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. ! Please know your comments are taken very seriously and will be acted upon immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is my second time staying here while on business and everything is great. The price is right and they offer great perks! They're thoughtfulness keeps them going as far as their to-go breakfast bags and the happy hour with beers offered to guests Coming in after work. The rooms are very modern and updated. It is further south than preferred, however the food options are good and you're right across the street from a beautiful Church.

The wood in the rooms chip away, however it is not the Swissotel so do not expect expensive furniture. The bed is comfortable and the room has ALL the amenities you need whether its to throw a small intimate gathering or a "stay-cation"! I wish all Hampton Inns were this nice! Very rare find!

Only con is that it is a pretty fair distance from the city but the morning commute to the SouthSide of chicago is only 20 minutes during the weekday and less on weekends. Easy to find because its off the exit ramp. Keep in mind, the food they offer is free so it won't be amazing, it's not. However, if you want better food, go to Panera Bread or Cracker Barrel across the street. There are also close food options as well like a Chipotle, Fuddruckers, Harold's, Red Lobster, etc.

Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
 We are delighted to know you like our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson

Address: 20920 Matteson Avenue, Matteson, IL 60443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Matteson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matteson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just off of I-57, the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland - Matteson hotel in Matteson, IL is your perfect choice just outside of downtown Chicago. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson Hotel Matteson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Southland-Matteson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.