We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walt's Restaurant

Walt's Restaurant
213 S Court St, Marion, IL 62959-2707
618-993-8668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Marion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Oregon, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When I travel to the area I always get Walt's pizza. We were there on a Friday night and the place was so busy I thought we might have a long wait but we were seated right away in a booth with plenty of room and fairly quiet area. We ordered a pizza and could not believe how quickly we were served. Pizza was great as always but we were especially pleased with the service on this visit

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“decent food no doubt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

dont go if ure in a hurry. food is good. i recommend the ruben sandwich or the ribeye! good salad bar also. st paddys day is fun here too. have good corned beef and cabbage too. and lots of beers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been a regular customer for years but ate there yesterday with my husband and had a very bad experience. While chewing my pizza I found what appeared to be a piece of dental floss in the piece i was chewing.To make a long story short I brought it to the attention of the general manager and was treated as if I was just a hard to please customer. Excuse me, since when is it wrong to register a complaint with management. Needles to say I felt I would get nowhere with management so I reported my find to the local health department. Mackie's and Bennie's will get my future business and I will recommend the same to family and friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Can't beat double decker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visit Marion a couple of times a year. It has become a requirement we eat at Walts at least once each visit. The double decker pizza is amazing, and nothing like we get on the East Coast. This combined with the beef taco nacho's makes for a great meal. Always great service and kid friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Restaurant in Marion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Walt's is hands down the best restaurant in Marion. It's a great restaurant to go to on a date. Well honestly, it's a great restaurant for pretty much any occasion. Walt's is a staple in Marion and when I'm craving good ol' Italian food or pizza...without question I choose Walt's.
Pros- wonderful food, great atmosphere, reasonable prices
Cons- constantly crowded...but hey, what do you expect?! Lol
Ohhh, one more thing...you must try the double decker pizza. Excellent!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Walt's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.