We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was not happy with this hampton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Marion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Marion to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Marion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2710 West Deyoung, Marion, IL 62959   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% - Book Early!
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marion
paw paw, United States
1 review
“was not happy with this hampton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had a horrible breakfast topped off with attitude. Bathroom sink had black mold all over the drain, and was met with a "sorry honey"~iron and rack w screws fell off the wall, and right out our room was the door, where all the employees sat and smoked. This hotel was way to overpriced for what we got. I usually love Hamptons. Will not stay at this one again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I'd like to start off with an apology. Your experience with us was unacceptable and rather unusual. We have accessed the particular room you stayed in, which I thank you for filling out our personal survey with that information, and put our maintenance man to work! This also prompted us to pay much more attention to our preventative maintenance so this never happens again! Thank you for the input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    64
    25
    15
    1
See reviews for
79
38
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel, convenient to I-57. We arrived on 26 June 2013 and were checked in by Tiffany and Kelly. They were very nice and, though unable to place us on the first floor, did get us in Room 225 near the elevator. The hotel is adjacent to a mall and numerous restaurants which was helpful. The breakfast area was a little small. One odd thing was that two females would walk from the kitchen to the front desk and back periodically, and they were wearing rubber shoes that would go "squish, squish, squish" all the way there and back. It was odd, funny, and a little disruptive as we ate breakfast, but how can you ask them what they are doing or to stop?! The shoes may have been worn for safety on wet kitchen floors and should have stayed in the kitchen. We would stay here again while passing through Southern Ilinois. Total for stay: $125.63 USD.

Room Tip: We like first floor near the breakfast area or a lower floor near the elevator which worked with Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We're glad to hear you had a good stay with us! As for the squishy shoes, our tiled floors take a beating at breakfast time! It sounds like our breakfast staff may have stepped in the juice spill while making her rounds. Thank you so much for your loyalty and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, ill, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Billing issues, did not advise me that a hold on your card meant up to 5 days frozen funds. Screwed up my bank account completely. hair on sheets when we got to room, bathroom sink did not have much water flow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I apologize for your experience with us. Our incidental policy definitely should have been explained to you. As for the issues with your room; unacceptable. We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to help you leave completely satisfied. The happiness of our guests is our number one priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Entire staff and services were very friendly. We always choose to stay with Hampton/Hilton properties. You can always depend on your reservation to be correct, check-in is always very fast as well as check-out. Helping with local restaurants and sights is never a problem including getting printed driving instructions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwisins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Daniel,
It is always a pleasure of ours to help our guests with finding any of the local attractions. Thank you for your recognition of the front desk staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prophetstown, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel. Staff was wonderful, breakfast were good and the rooms/beds/linens were clean and extremely comfortable. Overall a wonderful stay!I would stay here again. Very nice decor also in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jwisins, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Debra,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience here. Thank you letting us know how we did. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I brought my bicycle on this trip, the staff was very good about letting me take it up to my room. Some hotels frown on this, so this is definitely a plus for me. I always look for a Hampton on road trips, they always have comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We strive to do everything in our power to accommodate our guests. I'm glad we could give you some peace of mind knowing your bike was safe. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place was a major disappointment. The linens were less than satisfactory and should be disposed of, the bath faucets did NOT work and there was a constant noise of running water all night long. There should have been no charge for this...less than Hampton quality room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are willing to do everything in our power to satisfy our valuable guests. Please do not hesitate to give us a chance to make it right. We would be nothing without our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marion

Address: 2710 West Deyoung, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marion
#7 Family Hotel in Marion
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and relax at the Hampton Inn Marion, IL hotel, where you can enjoy Kokopelli golf course, catch a Southern Illinois Miners game, or take a dip in Crab Orchard Lake. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Marion Hotel Marion
Marion Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Marion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.