We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised, not delivered” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1802 Bittle Place, New Rt 13 & I-57, Marion, IL 62959 (Formerly Days Inn Marion)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Marion
GERMANTOWN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Promised, not delivered”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Previously we have praised this hotel, now we will no longer stay there after booking in advance for a non smoking room, called about 8PM and told would be very late arrival, asked if our non smoking room was saved, and told "no problem". When we arrived we were given a room that when I opened the door the tobacco stink nearly knocked us down. Went to office and they said we could have another room but the following three days we would have to stay in the "smoking room" they would clean the drapes, shampoo the carpets, wash the linens....that is how they make a room smoke free? What about the drapes, easy chair, the walls, pillows. Had they said, sorry, no non smoking rooms left when we made reservations I would understand. But to tell me one thing then try to shove us into a smoking room after stating they had "saved" us our room is totally unacceptable. The next day we got a credit for the nights we had to stay elsewhere, and we will never, never go back to this hotel. Had they been honest, no problem, but to think we would stay in a smoking room half cleaned in an hour or two, no way. Terrible way to treat a customer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate comments from our guests especially from repeat customers like you. We are deeply sorry for the disappointment you felt during your last stay at our hotel. We have taken note of the problem and are implementing corrective measures to ensure the utmost comfort and satisfaction of our guests. We do hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
6
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I've stayed at a number of America's Best Value Inns around the country and was never disappointed until I stayed at this one. It used to be a Days Inn and I think a Ramada Inn before that and it's gone downhill since then. The room was just OK but very crowded. The toilet broke but luckily it was just before I checked out. If there wasn't anyplace else available in town I would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. We apologize for whatever inconvenience that you have experienced. We are taking the necessary action to improve on our services as well as the amenities that our hotel is offering. We do hope that you would come back and feel the difference.

Mita Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

There was a very strong, decay like smell in the breakfast area
I saw people barbequing on their balcony
there was a broken refrigerator in my room and it smelled really bad inside
I saw a roach crawl into my room from outside.

But on the plus side the sports bar connected to the hotel looked nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comment about your stay at our hotel which we take as a means to know where we need to improve on. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are currently doing adjustments on our facilities based on your comment and we hope that, on your next travel, you could come and stay with us.

Mita Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I was impressed with this pet friendly budget hotel. The rooms were very spacious and all the furnishings seemed new. Very nice full sized couch and a nice desk and chair for computer work. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are passing through. Not the ghetto at all. Take a look at it through google streets and see for yourself. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was decent and well attended. Thumbs up on this one for sure!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We would like to thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We are glad that you had a great time at our hotel and that our services and amenities met your standard of cleanliness and good service. We feel all the more motivated to have every guest experience the same kind of hospitality that you had during your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We pull up and there is a bar / liquor store attached to the place, great I said then We were to have a non smoking room I took the key drove around bldg and there were ppl sitting out side partying this is at 2 pm I went to room and it smelled so strong of smoke I said no way it triggered my asthma that fast plus I have 2 small kids I do not want exposed to this drinking and carrying on So then I was given another room with no carpet that still had a slight smoke smell and signs of smoking such as burns of telephone blankets with holes I said ok it's only for 2 nights and we can just sleep , The rooms are very small the bathroom is smallest I have ever been in the pool area very small and smells strongly of mildew I only paid $50 per night but these rooms are not worth $25 it is a very ran down place and needs a lot of work, not a family friendly place but a place for ppl who want a sleeping room after they party at the bar

Room Tip: DONT go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments. We have addressed the issue of the smoke odor permeating through a non-smoking room by making the rooms next door to it non-smoking as well. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment regarding the sizes of the rooms and that of the pool. We do hope that you could come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ended up at this place due to back to school parents booking up all the local hotels. Unable to find anything else in town and not wanting to drive any further we figured it couldn't be too bad for one night. It turned out I was wrong.

Many of the people here are tenants. They live here. Some including their dogs. The place is certainly not very inviting. Think of the less desirable part of a city turned into a motel.

After check-in. We headed towards the room and found police in the parking lot. A little while later there were 6-7 police cars in the parking lot and many of the residents were outside watching the show. We closed and deadbolted the door and tried to sleep in a room that was not very comfortable. Perfect clean though for whatever that is worth. After a poor nights sleep I am writing this and thinking maybe we should've driven another hour.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comment. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience during your stay at our hotel. We are continuously seeking ways and means to improve on our service so that our guests are ensured of comfort and convenience at a reasonable price. We do hope that you could come around and be our guest sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have been using this chain for a few years now, this is a fairly new property to America's Best Value Inn's , it need some work, the room was clean, bedding crisp and clean, staff were helplful, good spot to stay, and close to the Free way.

Room Tip: Close to Freeway, and close to good restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, our accessibility to the freeway and a good number of good restaurants around us make us a preferred choice for travelers. We constantly seek out ways to improve on our services so that our guests are always satisfied. We hope to see you around soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1802 Bittle Place, New Rt 13 & I-57, Marion, IL 62959 (Formerly Days Inn Marion)
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free hot breakfast including scrambled eggs w/ biscuits and gravy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.