We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great updates!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Marion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Marion to your Saves list
Super 8 Marion
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Vernell RD, Marion, IL 62959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Marion
1 review
“really great updates!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were driving all night trying to find a hotel and everything was booked...so we were skeptical when we found a Super 8...we were desperate.... So I called and they were very friendly and held us a room (and even gave me a discount coupon)..when we got in the room smelled clean and had all new furnishings! New carpet and paint as well...it was very clean and was just what we needed...for the price this was a GREAT place! It's was actually the nicest place we stayed throughout our road trip! The Country Inn and Suites we stayed at were dirty and smelled of smoke and very poor service....this was fresh and clean and a nice surprise to end our vacation...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    103
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
81
60
32
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There were things that I liked about this hotel, and things I did not like. Might as well start with the good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean, and included a lot of welcome extras: coffee-maker, refrigerator, microwave, ironing board, etc. There is free coffee and limited breakfast items in the lobby. The bed was comfortable. The air-conditioning worked fine. Now the bad. The carpet is really ugly, and my room was furnished with mismatched items. No closet, only a rod for hanging clothes. No bedspread on the bed, only a blanket. When I took a shower and reached for a towel, the towel rack fell off the wall. The TV was small (worked perfectly, though). These are really insignificant items, but there was one major drawback. In my room, at least, the walls must have been paper-thin. I could hear every time someone in the hall opened or closed a door. And I could hear every word of the conversation the people in the room across the hall were having. If I had not been so tired, it might have been difficult to fall asleep due to the noise. All in all, this isn't a bad hotel for the price. But if you are a light sleeper, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at this Super 8 because all rooms in Carbondale were booked. The hotel is small, but the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was sparse, the breakfast area was nothing more than a few tables in front of the check-in/out desk, which made it extremely crowded. The beds were very comfortable and provided for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room was nice size with micro fridge that worked. However the bed mattress was sagging badly though was not rock hard. While our room was ok inside the hallways needed vacuuming and there was a very strong air freshener odor. If you are sensitive it can be a problem. It did not smell of tobacco smoke, a plus.
Breakfast area very small and cramped though you could make waffles. General fare, we do not eat the offered breakfasts.
Road construction makes getting on the Interstate southbound a detour down a two lane road.
I booked based on other higher reviews but I would not stay at this Super 8 again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Marion

Address: 2601 Vernell RD, Marion, IL 62959
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Marion 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel through Southern Illinois, make Super 8 Marion hotel your home base. Conveniently located off Interstate 57 and Route 13, our Marion, IL, hotel is only 15 minutes from Southern Illinois University and just 45 minutes from scenic Shawnee National Forest and Rend Lake. Start your morning off with free SuperStart continental breakfast before you head out to explore the area.Each room at our Marion, IL, hotel features free high-speed Internet access, free HBO and refrigerator. Business suites are available. We offer copy and fax services if you need to work from the road. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult, and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Marion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.