We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wecome Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Marion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Marion to your Saves list
Super 8 Marion
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Vernell RD, Marion, IL 62959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    103
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
81
61
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is my first stay in a Super 8 and I will consider staying at one again in the future. The room was clean and recently-updated, with all of the features of a more upscale chain at half the price. Although I did not use it, the room came with a microwave and refrigerator. I was concerned about noise due to the proximity to the interstate and a truck stop and was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We've all seen Super 8's that scream "stay away", but this is one of the nicer ones. It was a clean basic motel room at a busy location right off the interstate. It was surprisingly quiet as it is right next to McDonalds and many interstate truck stops, but for a basic room, with clean bedding and carpet, this location delivers. The very small breakfast area was also extremely clean for this type of overnight hotel, clean floors, and both day and night personnel were exceptionally nice and friendly. I will definitely be stopping here several times a year on the way to visit family and friends in Illinois.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at Marion IL Super 8 on Vernell Road on my way to Kansas. I had my dog, so I booked this hotel due to the reviews. Do NOT stay here if you want a clean room and want to be able to breath without inhaling cigarette smoke. I am mad that I don't have my pics, somehow they were deleted off my camera accidentally. Otherwise, you could see how gross the room really is. The curtain looked like they had never seen a vacuum, and the recliner looked like something from the Goodwill. The bed was nasty looking when I turned the bed down, so I wrapped up in a blanket from my truck and slept on top of the covers. Even though the smoking floor was below me, my room smelled of smoke. I am an asthmatic, so it was a poor choice on my part. I was on a tight travel schedule or I would have demanded my money back and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marionsuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Marion, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I would like to say Thank you for staying with us! Thank you for making a return reservation and I am sorry that things did not work out so you were not able to stay with us on your return visit, however I am glad the desk clerk was able to help you find a room in Carbondale during your return visit that accepted your pet. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our dog on our way to Florida. The room was very clean, the people were friendly, and the price was excellent. We have stayed at other Super 8 properties that were somewhat rundown, so this one was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast included cereal, coffee, juice, yogurt and some pastries. As mentioned in another review, there is a lot of construction in the area, which would make this motel difficult to find in the dark. There are a number of restaurants nearby which provides plenty of options for dinner. We plan on staying here again on our return trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Marion

Address: 2601 Vernell RD, Marion, IL 62959
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Marion 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel through Southern Illinois, make Super 8 Marion hotel your home base. Conveniently located off Interstate 57 and Route 13, our Marion, IL, hotel is only 15 minutes from Southern Illinois University and just 45 minutes from scenic Shawnee National Forest and Rend Lake. Start your morning off with free SuperStart continental breakfast before you head out to explore the area.Each room at our Marion, IL, hotel features free high-speed Internet access, free HBO and refrigerator. Business suites are available. We offer copy and fax services if you need to work from the road. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult, and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Marion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.