We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all-around hotel on my 5000 mile roadtrip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Marion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Marion to your Saves list
Super 8 Marion
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Vernell RD, Marion, IL 62959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best all-around hotel on my 5000 mile roadtrip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here 7/5/2012. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean and modern room, comfortable bed, air conditioning worked very well on a very hot day, very quiet at night, quick hot water for a shower in the morning.

I left early before breakfast but all other aspects of my stay were far better than expected from a budget hotel. Top-notch in every respect.

I reserved a room in advance with Super 8's online website and got a very good rate (under $70 with taxes added) and had a better stay here than in hotels costing twice as much on my 5000-mile roadtrip.

Room Tip: If possible, reserve your room a couple weeks in advance for a great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    126
    46
    12
    8
See reviews for
98
78
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here on our way to Northern Illinois. Very basic no frills two bed room. Very musty and strong smell of old smoke trying to be hidden. Slept ok and served its purpose. Left very early next day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stopped on return trip. Stopped around 10pm on Sunday evening, no problem getting room. The room was clean, bathroom was clean. There was kind of a musty smell but after turning the a/c colder this disappeared. The beds were comfortable and clean. Had refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker all were very clean. We were traveling with kids 11,3, 1. We liked the breakfast. make your own fresh waffle was very good. Better than the toaster variety. Breakfast area was small this is only thing close to a complaint. We were here for a clean room not the breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very basic but very clean, and excellent value for the area. An older property but very well maintained. Inside corridors were a big plus. Friendly desk staff. Gorgeous flower beds at the front made it seem more welcoming even though it's next to a busy truck stop. The sign outside declared "older than some, cleaner than most". Sums it up well. We just needed an affordable safe place to stop over on a long road trip...Note--this highway exit is under construction and we missed the exit at night (coming from I57 N google maps showed us getting off at 54b but there is no "b" designation now).

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here on our way to our Grandson's gradation and stayed here on our return trip. This is one of the best Super 8's we have stayed in. Would recommend it to everyone. Very clean, had a recliner in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed at the Marion Super 8 on our way home from a trip to Texas. Very polite staff, extremely clean room, comfy bed, and a tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontotoc, Mississippi
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Everything about this property was Very Nice. Parking was adequate. Front desk clerk was extremely nice and efficient. Very pleasant young lady. Room was everything I needed. Clean, smelled fresh, Refrigerator worked good. Bathroom was very clean. Bed, clean and comfortable. Plenty of eating choices with 1/2 mile. Only negitive was the $80.00 charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Marion

Address: 2601 Vernell RD, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Marion 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel through Southern Illinois, make Super 8 Marion hotel your home base. Conveniently located off Interstate 57 and Route 13, our Marion, IL, hotel is only 15 minutes from Southern Illinois University and just 45 minutes from scenic Shawnee National Forest and Rend Lake. Start your morning off with free SuperStart continental breakfast before you head out to explore the area.Each room at our Marion, IL, hotel features free high-speed Internet access, free HBO and refrigerator. Business suites are available. We offer copy and fax services if you need to work from the road. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult, and we are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Marion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.