We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N. Halfway Road, Marion, IL 62959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Mattoon, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in mid-October 2013, a Monday, Tuesday, and Weds night. The hotel is a very good hotel if you have reasonable expectations. They offer a wonderful complimentary breakfast every morning, which includes scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, bagels, toast, muffins, donuts, danishes, white rice, apple juice, orange juice, milk, coffee, other hot drinks, fresh fruits, cold cereals, fruit cups, yogurt, and that is just all I can remember.

There is a manager's reception offered every evening, which includes complimentary snacks and beverages (alcoholic and non). We didn't visit it, but we heard they offered nachos and cheese, meatballs, fresh fruits, etc.

The hotel offers fresh cookies at the counter every afternoon and until they are gone in the evening. They are quite delicious and we helped ourselves each day.

The hotel had a small pool and a nice sized hot tub, both of which were not busy while we were there and were quite enjoyable. There was also a small exercise room which looked fine, but we did not use it.

We had a king sized room, which was pretty small; if money is not an issue I would recommend paying the extra money and getting a suite. We were fine with the king sized room, but next time we will probably pay a little more and get the king suite for the extra space. The regular king sized room was pretty cramped and small, but still okay. Our room had a very comfy bed and pillows and the sheets were soft enough they didn't irritate my skin. I have a lot of trouble with my skin and harsh chemicals really make it worse, so I was very relieved I did not have that problem while I was there. The room had a newer high definition television, which looked very nice. Our room also had a microwave and refrigerator, which are very nice to have.

My room key stopped working on day two of our stay. We had the front desk fix it and then the next day the room key stopped working again. That was ridiculous. My husband used to work in a hotel and told me that second keys frequently will do that because of how they are programmed, but I don't care. If our stay is for three nights and we are given two keys, both keys should work throughout our entire stay. To have my room key stop working two days in a row is an unnecessary irritation.

Our room also ran out of Kleenex on the last night. The front desk gave my husband another box to bring to the room, but it was a bit annoying when we ran out of Kleenex in the room.

The elevator in the hotel needs work. When it leaves the first floor it makes a horrible cranking noise which everyone notices and comments on. I read back through old reviews on this website and saw this was mentioned back in April. April? Really? It's time to fix it!

The staff was very friendly, with the exception of the breakfast attendant. For some reason the breakfast attendant looked irritated every time I saw her and seemed grouchy when I complimented her for the very nice looking breakfast.

Check-in and check-out was a breeze. Check-in was super fast and efficient. We used a debit card to reserve our room and to pay. As long as you let them know when you check-in that you are using a debit card, they will charge the entire amount up front plus an extra $50 hold on the card. That way you don't have to worry about a lot of extra money being held out of your bank account while waiting for the held funds to be released. Check-out was automatic, they slipped the slip under the door for our records and we left the keys in the room.

Overall, it was a very good hotel. My husband and I both very much enjoyed our vacation. We plan to visit Southern Illinois again next October for another vacation and plan to base ourselves out of the same hotel, albeit with a King Suite next time (hopefully). I would highly recommend the hotel, but I wouldn't be doing a thorough review if I didn't point out the negatives I did. I know when I was researching this trip I paid attention to the good and the bad about the hotel so I would know what to expect. Like I said at the beginning, this is a very good hotel if you have reasonable expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
13
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stay here every time we are in Marion. Josh ,Angie and Mary (employees) have been wonderful each visit. The cleaning staff are the same. The hotel is showing some wear and tear but still one of the better ones in Marion. The hot tub has been closed but since I do not use them I am not affected. The morning breakfast is nothing out of the ordinary and as a result I seldom eat there,which is true of about every motel I stay at. Overall I enjoy my stay thanks mostly to the staff.

Room Tip: Top floor will keep noise to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've stayed here many times over the past couple of years, and we will again, but I do believe the beds have reached a point where they need to be replaced. The mattresses were very uncomfortable this stay. Other than that, the property is clean, the complimentary breakfast is good with more hot items, and the staff is always very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was glad to hear that they were able to take good care of my Pastor and his family. My Pastor and family were traveling late and arrived here and said that they were cared for very nicely. The front desk clerk was able to make accommodations to charge our account for the essentials instead of charging our Pastor. They said the breakfast was very nice. They would stay there again when traveling through this area. Nice Job everyone at your hotel. Way to go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a clean, comfortable room for the night. We were greeted as we walked in the door. Great value for a one night stay in a studio suite with room to spread out and relax. This Fairfield Inn was the best I have experienced. Would recommend to family and friends. We only had one issue and that was with the address. This site (trip advisor) shows the correct GPS address, however when pulling up our confirmation it states the hotel address is 1400 Champion Drive. I would recommend the hotel correct this on their confirmations or add a note advising directions. There website did an excellent heads up job on the address however I pulled up the confirmation for information.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the studio suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel lives up to its many positive TripAdvisor reviews. We stayed here on July 5 and were extremely happy with the room, breakfast and the property in general. I'd give it a 5 if it weren't for the fact that the air conditioner in our room never seemed to get as cold as it should have. The hotel is next door to the minor league ballpark, and there was a game the night we stayed there. At around 10 PM we were able to watch their fireworks display out our hotel window. Fabulous! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before and loved it. Tried it again this week and its even better than I remember. This place might be the best Fairfield I've tried. Great room, attractive lobby, and they have upgraded the TV. Also, there is a neat minor league baseball park across the street; talk about a bonus to a traveler away from home! Also, the breakfast had hot oatmeal, sausage, and eggs; way above what you normally get. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I will base out of here from now on when in Southern Illinois. Great place!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion

Address: 1400 N. Halfway Road, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites underwent a change of ownership in October 2010 and was completely renovated shortly thereafter and has had many new amenities made available to guests. New amenities include new high definition televisions in each guestroom, new electric front entry doors, new furniture and fixtures throughout the guestrooms and public areas, and the availability of complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet service to guests. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Marion
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion Hotel Marion
Fairfield Inn Marion
Fairfield Marion
Marion Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Hotel Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.