We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vault Cafe On The Square

The Vault Cafe On The Square
504 Tower Square Plaza, Marion, IL 62959
+1 618-993-9010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Marion
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: American, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Marion
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really cool atmosphere inside an old bank building that even has some seating inside to original bank vault. I would highly recommend the breakfast, their Hawaiian French toast is to die for! We love our Saturday morning breakfasts there after a trip to the Farmer's Market.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundgrenFamily, Owner at The Vault Cafe On The Square, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoy your Hawaiian bread french toast and are so happy to hear you love coming in on the weekends after a trip to the local Farmer's Market! We really appreciate people like you who choose to shop local! Thanks so much for taking time to review our cafe and continue to help spread the word! Thanks again so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun, Friendly and Good Food to Boot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Atmosphere Very Cool! The old Bank has been transformed into a very pleasant little cafe whose decor harkens back to the thirties or forties and reminds us of Bonnie and Clyde. You can choose to eat inside the actual vault or in what would otherwise have been the lobby. A good spot for a small business luncheon.
My Husband and I had our second meal at the Vault Cafe today. The food is very good but simple with there own take on otherwise ordinary food. My husband had a club sandwich that was grilled after it was put together, melting the cheese to give it that little something extra. I had a breakfast burrito named the Bank Roll. It was crisp bacon, scrambled eggs (very fluffy), cheese and gravy grilled in a wheat tortilla. It was really very good. Sides were also very good.
Prices are moderate. For Lunch, our bill came to $17.40 for two persons. Open for Breakfast and Lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundgrenFamily, Owner at The Vault Cafe On The Square, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe. We are so glad that you enjoyed your first two visits. We would love to serve you many times in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to review us. We genuinely appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a beautiful place to dine! This was our first visit to the Vault and it won't be our last. Food was outstanding, I had breakfast and my wife had lunch. We couldn't ask for a nicer meal. The service was excellent and the ambience of this restored landmark all made for a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundgrenFamily, Owner at The Vault Cafe On The Square, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your first trip to the Vault! We hope to serve you again many times in the future! Please help us continue to spread the word; we genuinely appreciate it! Thanks again for taking the time to review our cafe :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You can Take it to the (former) Bank Dine while you're at it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Imagine the sight of walking into a former bank with the intent of having a fine breakfast or lunch with a combination of pristine and rustic settings. The Vault Cafe on the Square offers that and much more. There's even a table for up to four that is available to dine at, if you're lucky. It's a popular table that's high in demand during their peak hours. While their menu is conservative in the number of choices, they definitely cater to the breakfast and lunch crowds. Their hours are 6am - 2pm, seven days per week. The food is good with generous portions. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. Rob, the owner, can often be seen going about the room greeting his customers. If you like good, reasonably priced food served in a unique setting, then give them a try. I believe you'll be pleased.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundgrenFamily, Owner at The Vault Cafe On The Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We thank you for your review of our little café! It means so much to us when people like you take the time to review us and continue to spread the word! We are so glad you have enjoyed your trips to the Vault and we hope to serve you many times in the future. Thanks again so much for your time; it is truly appreciated :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had breakfast there. Just like a home cooked meal. Have pancakes as big as a small pizza. French toast that was heavenly. Heard lunch is just as terrific.
The decor is cool. Old bank structure. Even has the vault(why its the name) you can sit in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LundgrenFamily, Owner at The Vault Cafe On The Square, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to the Vault and hope to serve you many times in the future! Thanks again for taking the time to review us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vault Cafe On The Square also viewed

 

Been to The Vault Cafe On The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vault Cafe On The Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.