We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIU Graduation weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Marion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Comfort Dr., Marion, IL 62959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Marion
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SIU Graduation weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend. We had a graduation to attend to at SIU. Anyone in the hotel business in Southern Illinois knows that is is a very busy weekend. So you would think they would be prepared for this busy time.
I cannot say that it was completely disappointing, but we were disappointed none the less. We arrived at 2 pm on Friday afternoon after travelling 6 hours. The girl at the front desk was not nice at all. I wish I could of remembered her name. It started with a C. Check in time is 3 pm. We asked if we could check in early , she promptly said no and would not even look to see if our room was ready. I went to ask her another question and she walked away. Oh well I thought and did not make to much of a deal out of that and we left for awhile.
When we came back later to check in, she was gone and a gentleman was at the front desk. He was a little busy and should of had some help with him on this busy weekend. We got all checked in and went to our room. A king size suite for 5 people. We only had 2 towels . The lounge chair in the room was broken and full of stains. There was hair in the ice bucket and the tv remote did not work.. There were no soap bars in the bathroom.
The ice machine on the 1st and 2nd floors did not work. When we went to ask for more towels we were told there were none except pool towels. So he gave us two of them. So now we had a total of 4 towels. For 5 people.
Later that evening we went to the pool and hot tub, the pool was too cold, hot tub too hot. Breakfast the next day was awful. No coffee, no hot water for tea, nothing left to choose from and there was still at least another 1.5 hours till the breakfast stopped. The girl who was suppose to be talking care of the area was no where to be found. I had a yogurt as that was about all you had to choose from.
Went to the pool and hot tub again the second night, pool still too cold. And there were no towels in the pool area at all. I really think that the management should look into putting extra staff on these graduation weekends as things seemed to fall behind quite a lot. I may give them a second chance but will have to think about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwailgm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marion Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We apologize for any inconvenience and problems that you had. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. If you have any more questions please contact me 618-998-1220.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    14
    15
    3
See reviews for
65
44
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We went for a graduation at SIU and got a great deal on this hotel. It was about 20 miles away from graduation, which is great considering rooms are scarce around graduation. I booked 3 months in advance and this is the closest I could get. Friendly staff, convenient to restaurants and shopping and free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The room was large, very clean, nicely furnished and reasonably priced. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our only disappointment was with the pool It is a beautiful glassed in area but the pool water was extremely cold and the whirlpool was unbearably hot! The patio just off the pool was nice and secluded. On the whole - a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I were on a long, long drive and had to stop in Marion, which is heavily populated with hotels. We just wanted somewhere to sleep, and we ended up choosing the Best Western, based on my mostly positive experiences with this company. We were beyond surprised. The room felt brand new, spotless, and heaven after 11 hours of driving. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower had great water pressure, the staff was friendly. Breakfast was really good, much better than most. We were only there for about 10 hours, but it was a fantastic stop. Used a AAA discount, but it was really affordable either way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The free breakfast offerings were extensive: Eggs, pancakes, bacon, juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt..pretty much anything you would want. The employees were very accommodating and the hotel was very clean. Overall it was a good value with a nice pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Halls and lobby were clean, quiet, and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was what you get at most hotels. We will stay here again when traveling to southern Illinoisl

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked this hotel when my other choice of hotel chain was completely booked. This is one of the nicest Best Western's we've stayed at in recent years and a bonus that the rates were so reasonable. We paid a few extra dollars for the larger king room, which came with came with a huge vanity area, and 2 refrigerators! The main room had a king bed and a sofa bed and was quite spacious. I was told that the property used to be another hotel which had been converted to a Best Western.

Room Tip: The hotel is very near the interstate--basically off a frontage type of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Plus Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marion Hotel

Address: 400 Comfort Dr., Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marion Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Updated Best Western Plus Marion Hotel. Conveniently located on I-57 at exit 53, we are a short walk from Cracker Barrel and Twenties Hideout Restaurants. The Best Western Plus Marion Hotel offers a Free Full Hot Breakfast, Free WiFi in the rooms and public areas and a newly updated 24 hour business center for guest use. After you work or play hard all day, you can swim year round in our large atrium enclosed pool or relax in the hot tub. You can also maintain your exercise routine in our newly updated fitness room or with free passes to Golds Gym. All rooms have 32' Flat screen TV, DVD players with DVD Rentals at front desk, AM/FM alarm clock with MP3 connection, Microwave and Refrigerator. The Best Western Hotel is located just 18 miles from Southern Illinois University Carbondale (SIUC) and 3 miles from the Williamson County Airport (MWA). We are also located near Shawnee National Forest, Crab Orchard National Wildlife Refuge and Rend Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Best Western Plus Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.