We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2609 Blue Heron Drive, Marion, IL 62959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Marion
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was not my choice but it was a nice place. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was fine. The property has easy access to the highway and is close to dining and shopping options. The building appears to be recent construction so everything is in tip-top shape.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for trying us even though we werent your first choice! I hope from what you experienced that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
20
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have rarely been let down by Holiday Inn Express. This was a very nice facility with a nice room. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We did however, find what looked like a "bugle" snack under the ottoman for the chair in the room. That was a bit disappointing. All in all it was a nice mostly clean room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We always strive to make sure all of our guest's stays our perfect. We have discussed finding the bugle snack under your ottoman with our housekeeping department to make sure that never happens again. Next time you are in the area please ask to speak to me directly so we can upgrade you to one of our suites free of charge. Thanks again and sorry we were not able to make your stay perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Big thanks to the Holiday Inn Express in Marion who took us in after the Holiday Inn, Carbondale did not have a room for us even though we had a confirmation for a room there (apparently they had overbooked). Special thanks to General Manager Matt Monchino and his staff who were extremely helpful in our situation and made sure we were well taken care of. My son and I were extremely appreciative of their kindness. Room was quiet, very clean, and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about your stay. Feedback from great guests like yourself is what allows us to win awards like our most recent one, the Certificate of Excellence Award. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The front desk staff was very accommodating and helpful. Very well-kept property.

Our room was beautifully decorated and had many little touches I hadn't seen elsewhere, such as reading lights on both sides of the headboard. Beautifully decorated and perfectly clean and comfortable. It was quiet inside and in the surrounding area outside. Look for the sign, because after you turn off the interstate it may be the last one you'll see! Worth looking for though. Nice continental breakfast with all the extras.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about your stay. Feedback from great guests like yourself is what allows us to win awards like our most recent one, the Certificate of Excellence Award. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stopped in here on my road trip heading south. I had a king room on the first floor. This is a wonderful new hotel with the latest design and amenities found in a new HIE. Do not be surprised if your GPS does not find this area, there is so much new construction in the area, just follow the signs and you be able to see the hotel once you exit the interstate.

There are several places to eat nearby, be aware, they may not stay open late in the evening. I would also recommend making reservations, you never know when a conference or traveling sports team may be passing through. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for all your kind feedback. We have posted your review for all of our staff to see as well. We look forward to your next stay with us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here on business, and was very impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. There are several restaurants nearby, although they could stand to be open a little later on the weekend. I stayed in a very spacious king room, which had a refrigerator and microwave. The showers were very hot, and there was a desk to work at and a nice chair to relax in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about your stay. Feedback from great guests like yourself is what allows us to win awards like our most recent one, the Certificate of Excellence Award. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, IL.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a very quiet night for them (day after Labor Day). Arrived to a room upgrade - without requesting one. This is a nearly new facility and everything was clean, comfortable and quiet. The dresser top/counter/work table provide the option of sitting in an ergonomic chair or standing to work on your laptop. I work standing in my office whenever possible and was very please to find this option here. The free breakfast included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage links and patties and everything else you would expect to see at HIE.The staff was very friendly ( They never did figure out what happened to my bonus point reservation but I wasn't charged the extra fee so I can live without it). If you need to be pulling off the road at Marion - it's hard to imagine that you could be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion

Address: 2609 Blue Heron Drive, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.