We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1306 Halfway Road, Marion, IL 62959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Constantine, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel we ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hubby developed a pinched nerve over a week ago while driving truck. I drove down a 3 days ago. He was in another hotel, which was adequate for him, but not for my asthma and for two of us. Our daughter found this hotel for us at a very reasonable rate. The breakfast is wonderful-I have to eat gluten free, so the offerings are not as good as for the average person, but I always travel prepared. Hubby can get what he usually eats with extra embellishments that make breakfast even more appetizing. Fresh made waffles, biscuits and gravy, frittatas, juice, oatmeal, fruit, sausage, to name a few things. The coffee is excellent, too. The staff is great-friendly and very helpful. Our room is clean, comfortable, well decorated, nice view, a nice home away from home. I can't imagine how this hotel could be any better. Maybe an in house massage therapist? Love it!
There are many good restaurants in the area, some within very easy walking distance. Shopping is close as well. So are medical professionals-hospitals, chiropractors, walk in clinic, acupuncture, just about anything you need close by. The hotel also has a guest laundry that costs very little. They also have a hot tub/whirlpool, pool, exercise room. You can also borrow books for all ages from their small but adequate library.
If one has to be stuck somewhere for any reason, this is the place! Or just passing through. If we pass through again, we will most definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The room we are in hasn't been noisy. The hotel is close to an interstate and highway, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    34
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
74
40
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, GA, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

First time in Marion and I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The hotel is newish. The rooms are clean and quite. My wife commented about how comfortable the bed was. The breakfast was fair but the location is great. Close to shopping and places to eat. The staff was friendly and accommodating. If ever in the area again this will be my hotel of choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were booked at another motel in Marion but decided that it was so poor that we'd sleep in our car before staying there. There was a lot going on in Marion and we were lucky to get into a suite at Country Inn & Suites. We've not stayed with this chain but will try to in the future based on this stay. Even though we didn't need a suite that's what was available and we were offered a lower rate (it was further adjusted the next morning). The room was quiet, the wi-fi excellent, and we turned what was starting to look like a disaster turned out really well.

Room Tip: We'll stay here again if the opportunity arises. Breakfast was good. Property is family owned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the time we came in late, long day of tourist attractions and driving, we were made to feel at home. Amy greeted us and had everything in order. She is a great ambassador for this hotel and Country Inn and Suites. We were recognized as concierge members of Club Carlson and received all the perks that come with that level. Amy was so helpful and friendly, you felt like you were at home.

Nice one bedroom Suite, comfortable bed, two flat panel tvs and a great breakfast. Pool, whirlpool and all facilities in nice working order.

What a Great Country.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This Country Inn has really gone down since the last time I was here a few years ago. Everything was run down with know apparent attempt to keep this place up. there were huge noticeable stains on the carpet everywhere both in the hallways and the rooms even in the elevator. the blackout curtain in the room should very evident signs of dry rot, in the daytime you could see tiny holes all through it, the desk/dresser was very scratched. The tv was miniscule and the walls had ancient cottage cheese type speckled paint. The colors of yellow pee on the carpet and wall was not appealing either.

You could really call this hotel pet hotel instead of for people, there were animals everywhere, you could hear dogs barking all through the night. I won't speculate or where all the stains in the carpet came from, but with all the animals in the hotel.... And the pillows on the beds were outrageous they were a quarter of the size of a regular pillow!!! Why!! It wasn't even big enough for my 12 year old's head to fit. Why don't they have regular size bed pillows!!

From reading the other reviews and from my stay a few years ago I thought breakfast would be ok...Boy was I wrong it was attrocious, no eggs or potatoes, just biscuit and gravy and a processed looking fried chicken patty. No whole wheat bread, no muffins and not even any bannans!! No individual cups of yogurt instead some sad looking curdled up yogurt in a bowl that you had to dip out!! The waffle mix was not prepared right on no matter how much people filled the waffle maker only one side came out looking like a waffle the other side looked like something run over by a car!

The surface area around the pool needs to be re-done, it is a very dingy, dirty looking concrete. And to top it all off housekeeping left my door open all day, I returned to a room with the door ajar!!

Very disappointed would have even moved the next night if there was somewhere else to be found(every hotel was pretty booked) and I wouldn't incur a penalty.

Would not stay again.... :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We're on the last legs of an extended road trip and finding good places to stay with a dog isn't always easy so I've relied on tripadvisor to plan my itinerary. Had never stayed at a Country Inn & Suites property until now but this was a really nice experience. All of the staff were very very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in knowing if everything was okay with our stay. The room was clean, modern quiet and comfortable. Breakfast exceeded expectations! They actually had real plates and utensils (a hang up of mine) and everything was freshly prepared(the scrambled eggs weren't the prepackaged looking stuff).

There are an amazing number of similar hotel chains located at this Interstate exit. I would think that it is difficult to differentiate one hotel there from another with so many being in close proximity but the Country Inn & Suites have put together the best experience I have had on this trip (9 nights).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay. The décor was very nice. The room was comfortable and the beds were comfortable. Would stay here anytime. Had a great pool, exercise room, and the breakfast room was very large and had a great breakfast. Staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are tired and want to sleep this is the place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL

Address: 1306 Halfway Road, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marion
#6 Business Hotel in Marion
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Marion
Country Inn & Suites Marion Hotel Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion, IL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.