We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres d'Hotes de Charme "Les Bournais"

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'lle-Bouchard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres d'Hotes de Charme "Les Bournais"
Save
You added Chambres d'Hotes de Charme "Les Bournais" to your Saves list
Theneuil | L'Ile Bouchard Chinon, 37220 L'lle-Bouchard, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very good hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a very good Chambre D'Hotes situated just a few kilometers away from the river. There are 4 self contained units (former wine stores etc.) situated within or adjacent to the courtyard of the main house.The 2 units our party of 4 stayed in were tastefully and sympathetically restored but the principal attraction for visitors is the hosts who are very friendly,welcoming and both speak good English. Two nights each week they prepare an evening meal for you (optional) and join you at the table so you all eat as 1 large family, it was for us a very enjoyable experience, and yes we will stay there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at les Bournais for the first three nights of our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it! Florence and Phillipe were both wonderful hosts who made us feel comfortable and welcome...and even had a bottle of champagne ready for us in the room's refrigerator! There was a German couple staying there at the same time and they were delightful! We all had dinner together Wednesday night at the farm and the food was incredible and wine never stopped flowing. Excellent conversation and the highest quality of hospitality! Should we ever return to the Loire Valley, we would absolutely not hesitate to stay at les Bournais. Every part of our stay was wonderful.

Amy and Bill LaSota

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at les Bournais for four nights. It's the best Chambre D'Hotes we've found in France. The rooms are superb both in comfort, decor and space and Florence and Phillipe are wonderful hosts (and even let me practise my French!). We ate dinner with them and it was superb.The farm is beautiful and so peaceful that we overslept. we hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Augustine
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This place is fantastic. We stayed in "la Petite Maison" which has a full kitchen, two sleeping rooms and a full bath and living room. It was everything you could ask for. We were so comfortable that we did not want to leave. Breakfast was excellent, our hosts Phil and Florence ate with us and made us feel like we were in our own home. Being American we normally eat more than the French do and Florence was more than happy to provide eggs and oat meal. They welcomed us warmly and made us feel quite at home. This B&B is 5 star....

Room Tip: I don't think she has a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scissett, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We have been staying at Les Bournais for almost 10 years, sometimes with family and friends, and it is quite simply the best B&B we have found in France.

Phil & Flo are wonderful hosts, the rooms are superb and the atmosphere is marvellous.

We look forward to staying here for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent two wonderful days at Les Bournais, a delightful converted farmhouse in the quiet countryside. We can't recommend this establishment more highly. Our accommodation was superb, the breakfasts were wonderful, and we were so pleased to have enjoyed dinner al fresco with our delightful hosts. Flo's cooking is just superb, and the enjoyment that she and Phillippe have to receive guests made our stay the most pleasant we've had in a B&B. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambres d'Hotes de Charme "Les Bournais"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'Hotes de Charme "Les Bournais"

Address: Theneuil | L'Ile Bouchard Chinon, 37220 L'lle-Bouchard, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > L'lle-Bouchard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in L'lle-Bouchard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to welcoming you in our "Chambres d'Hôtes de Charme" (Charming Bed and Breakfast) ,in the quiet of the countryside nearby the Châteaux de La Loire and the area of Chinon, Bourgueil, Vouvray,and Montlouis wines. Chinon, Azay-Le-Rideau, Villandry, Ussé, Le Rivau, Langeais, Richelieu, Fontevraud Abbaye...are very close from our house.The rooms are very spacious (42m2 each one) and confortable, with private bathroom (large shower, wc and lavabo) a lounge with a mini bar and a kettle, a terrace with armchairs.. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres d'Hotes de Charme "Les Bournais", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.