We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Grove Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Grove Cabins
Save
You added Oak Grove Cabins to your Saves list
413 Oak Grove Road, Makanda, IL 62958   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I decided to go to the Shawnee wine trail right after new years this year and we were happy to find the Oak Grove cabins online. We absolutely loved the cabin (we stayed in cabin 1) and we were pleased that dogs were allowed so that they could travel with us. The cabin is clean and thoughtfully decorated with a gas fireplace, wildlife art and beautiful wood everywhere. The cabins are obviously well maintained by the owners, everything inside and out was modern and in great condition. We absolutely loved the outdoor hot tub and had an awesome view of the stars with almost no light pollution in the secluded location of the cabins. The cabin felt relaxing and private - there is a house and another cabin within walking distance as the website stated but they are almost completely obscured by trees even during winter and far enough away to feel isolated from (especially from the hot tub/back porch). The owners have compiled a nice binder full of local attractions and services and we took some advice from it to go see the little grand canyon which was great. The mattress was a bit on the firm side as other people have stated here, but that's more of a personal preference than a complaint. Overall my wife and I had a wonderful time and will surely be back another time, maybe to checkout the other two cabins.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything about Dorothy's cabins are thoughtful, fully stocked kitchen, nice linens, comfy beds, excellent hot tub, semi-secluded, front porch, outdoor campfire area.....you name it, our stay was lovely. Late review, stayed in 2010

Room Tip: Accepts pets at two cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed at two of the cabins, and they are top notch. They are comfortable, maintained and usually overstocked with stuff you need. There are specific clean up rules for checkout, but we always clean after our stay anyway. I met the owner, and she is awesome. When we go to Southern Illinois, we always try to stay in one the cabins.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Oak Grove Cabins are a beautiful, open design that makes them feel much larger than their actual footprint. The decor and furnishings are very obviously selected with both taste and comfort in mind - quality mattresses covered with gorgeous, high-thread count sheets and cozy quilts and bedding, sink-in-and-curl-up sofas, a fully equipped kitchen, and a sparkling clean bathroom - including many essentials you might have forgotten at home(loved that lotion you had in there on our last stay!). Truly thoughtful touches throughout that really make you feel like you are staying in someone's home as their guest, and not just an anonymous, generic feel of being in a sterile hotel room.

We've stayed in different cabins on the property, cabin one, the newer ones -and they are very private from each other. Of course, if someone is being loud, obnoxious, etc - sure you can hear them....you're in the woods...and sound carries in quiet woods. Simply put, if you want to make a bunch of ruckus, this probably isn't the place for you. Want a romantic getaway? A family gathering(rent two or more!)? A perfect starting point to enjoy the Wine Trail, explore Giant City, go antiquing in Anna and Alto Pass...this is it. It ain't Party Central. Thank goodness.

The owner is a gracious, helpful woman who will make sure that every aspect of your stay is wonderful, recommend things in the area if you ask, and takes a lot of pride in her property as well. Please don't give credence to other reviewers who have complained about her cleaning policies, fussed about bugs(LOL), etc - give her site a thorough read as all of her policies and information are readily available and are not a big deal at all....but if you can't abide by them, there are other great options for lodging in the area. Personally, I won't stay anywhere else.

Please don't hesitate to contact me personally if you have any questions about this terrific property.

Room Tip: All the cabins are beautiful - Cabin One's patio is open to the sky. Sitting in that hot tub, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband & I had a weekend getaway & had the pleasure of staying in the newest addition to the cabins, #2 “The Dogwood" in Walnut Grove. Upon easy entering of the front door, we just felt very welcome & relaxed. We were very impressed with the decor, and modernization of this cabin. Everything from the flat screen t.v.’s to the stainless steel appliances to the luxurious spa on the patio, this cabin takes the cake! Of course you’re in the woods, you expect a few bugs here and there but we did not experience anything overboard bug wise. We had access to plenty of pre-chopped fire wood, and felt very private at our cabin. The kitchen was stocked with most of the items you’d need in any ordinary kitchen. Towels & toiletries were provided & well stocked. The electronics were easy to use as well. The mattress was not as comfortable as I’d hoped it would be, but wasn’t a deal breaker by any means. As with any other rental out there, there are cleaning policies and procedures that they are required to tell you. After reading them I didn’t feel that they were outrageous in any way. The owners obviously take pride in the things that they own and wish to keep their nice things looking nice. They are easy to work with and very polite people. Overall, we just cant wait to go again, hopefully in the winter! We imagine its just as beautiful that time of year! We had such a lovely time! It’s the perfect place to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great spot with great amenities. Have had the pleasure of staying there more than once and will return. Can't wait to check out Walnut Grove cabins! The placement of the cabins is well thought out and you feel like you are alone in the woods. Close to everything and Dorothy is very accommodating. I just wish I had more time to actually stay on the site. There's so much to see and do out and about- I always wish I had more time there to do nothing and enjoy the space! That's on our "to do" list!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed twice at these cabins, and have never had a bad experience. The area is beautiful, and the cabins are as well. The owners are very nice and provide everything you need for a perfect, relaxing stay. They are dog friendly which is a big plus for me, and provide everything we need to make their stay enjoyable. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Grove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Grove Cabins

Address: 413 Oak Grove Road, Makanda, IL 62958
Location: United States > Illinois > Makanda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Makanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Grove Cabins provide 3 separate private and secluded fully furnished cabins for nightly or weekly rental minutes from Carbondale, Illinois. Located in the heart of the Shawnee National Forest and along the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. Each cabin features a private hot tub, 2 bedrooms (king size bed and queen size bed), full kitchen, gas fireplace, grill, satellite television and more. The perfect spot for honeymoons, anniversaries, birthdays, or to just get away from it all. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Grove Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.