We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway! Can't wait to go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makanda Inn
Save
You added Makanda Inn to your Saves list
855 Old Lower Cobden Road, Makanda, IL 62958   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Makanda B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect Getaway! Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I just want to thank the people at Makanda Inn for a weekend I'll never forget. We all felt right at home, and the service and hospitality was exceptional! I wish our visit could have been longer. We will be back though, and very much look forward to it. -Nat

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We loved this inn! We've never stayed anywhere quite like it. The rooms are eco-friendly, yet very luxurious at the same time. Peaceful and enjoyable stay-- and a delicious breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Makanda Inn had a wonderfully comfortable bed and the breakfast is a delight for the eyes as well as the palate. That said, the design of the Inn, wel eco-friendly, is not sound proof. So if other guests are there and using the comon area on the lower level you can hear them in your room, so much for peace and quiet. Also, while Janelle, was pleasant and breakfast delicious, she was not around at all during the days, no office hours, but you could call her (call says emergency to me). The other problem while they do advertise a TV we found you could get one channel only each day, and then only if you were lucky. Not that you want a tv but why advertise what you don't have. No real comfortable place to sit in your room beside the bed. You could use the lower level common area but then you have no privacy. Having been at several other B & Bs this one would not be on my list of those to revisit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010 via mobile

Wonderful scenery surrounds this beautiful 4 bedroom lodge located in the heart of Southern Illinois wine country. The hostess (Janelle) is a very good cook. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. The overall experience was second to none.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We had a wonderful stay, with emphasis on SERVICE (you rock, Janelle) and BEDDING (was I sleeping on a cloud?)!!! What a lovely, relaxing place to see my dear friends. It was the perfect place for a busy mama to rest. Thanks, Makanda!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010 via mobile

The breakfasts were amazing, the bedding extremely comfortable, the people friendly!! An ideal location for rest and relaxation! A big thank you to Jenelle for making us feel right at home. We were a little uncertain about the amount of privacy we would have at a B&B but our concerns were quickly laid to rest. We would highly recommend this lovely place to all who are seeking some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Great food, fantastic service.
Would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makanda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda Inn

Address: 855 Old Lower Cobden Road, Makanda, IL 62958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Makanda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Makanda
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique bed and breakfast experience, Southern Illinois first Eco-Friendly Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makanda Hotel Makanda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanda Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.