We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1646 North Lafayette Street, Macomb, IL 61455 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Macomb)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've stayed at the Hotel numerous time. In fact I stayed at this Hotel prior to the remodel and its like a totally different Hotel. I have no complaints.
The beds and furniture are so comfortable. The TV and the appliances are up to date and lack nothing.
The people at the counter are always friendly and make me feel welcome.
The breakfast is good and decent. Like I said before I have no complaints.
The only reason I gave them 4 instead of a 5 rating is because of the parking lot. Its poorly lit and could use better lighting. Its not major, but needs some attention.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Alderson, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words concerning our staff and facilities. I will make sure to pass them on to the staff, and I'm sure they will add their thanks to mine. I appreciate your comments on our parking lot - we are so used to it that we don't see it the way others do. You have brought an important issue to our attention. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
12
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Don't let other rooms lead you astray. Outside of hotel is nothing to get excited about, but that's okay I'm staying inside.

Room was nice with comfy bed and nice TV.

I suggest room on back of hotel, 2nd floor for maximum quietness.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Alderson, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our rooms. We do have an older building who's architechture is out of style but we try very hard to provide a nice stay. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was really small compared to other Comfort Inns we've stayed at, and they don' have an elevator. There was a no slip mat on the bottom of the tub that was only semi stuck down; both dangerous and dirty. The toilet was loose on the floor so that when you sat down it rocked and made a loud clunk. The hand rail in one of the stairways was pulled out of the wall making it unsafe to use. And best of all - the entire town was under a boil order, but there was no mention of it when we checked in, nor were there any signs posted at the entrances. The only way you found out was if you went to get ice. Until this motel, Comfort Inn had been one of the motel chains I had felt very sure of. Now I'm sure I'll be more cautious.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane_Alderson, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments, these are the basis for our continued improvement efforts. Unfortunately, boil orders are a fact of city life but we will certainly be more proactive in our efforts to ease the burden on our guests. Our handrail has been fixed but it's true there is no elevator in this two story facility. Front Desk staff are instructed to offer to help guest with their luggage. We hope you come back to see us and enjoy the changes elicited by your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, IN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Was reluctant to book due to past reviews but the 2 hotels we usually stay at were booked. To our surprise the room very clean and appeared to be recently updated, staff was friendly and breakfast standard fare. Pool and whirlpool very nice. Canceled a future reservation and rebooked here for 2 nights at $50 a night cheaper. Only downside is no elevator, we had to request a first floor room and internet was sporadic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Your feedback helps direct us as we continue to make improvements with regards to Guest Relations and Accommodations. Unfortunately we do not have an elevator; however, we put forth every effort in accommodating floor choices for our guests especially when known in advance. An internet upgrade is currently in the works. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel many times in the past . It has changed names many times.It currently is a Comfort inn. In the past year Comfort Inn has Modernized the rooms with everything being replaced .They have added a breakfast area with many selection of items and drinks. The staff is friendly and very responsive to your needs. The only thing that would be a negative is I enjoy staying here because of the pool and whirlpool. It always seem to have one or both of them (OUT OF ORDER). Other than that this place is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your business. We did experience a mysterious and continuous loss of water in the spa and pool; however, I am pleased to report that the leak has been found and our pool and spa are both up and running without fail. I hope you'll join us for a refreshing and relaxing swim in the near future. Thank you for your business and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night. We were in town for a visit to Western Illinois University. The room we had was updated, clean, and quite comfy. It did feel small, the furniture took up alot of room not leaving much dancing space. I imagine it had less and smaller furniture in a previous life. There was not an outlet near the desk, bring an extension cord. The breakfast was good. The pool area looked very nice, but we did not have time to use it. The wireless internet was free yet very slow, I may be spoiled! The staff was helpful with everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I'm happy to report that the internet is getting upgraded. Upon your next visit, I hope you get the opportunity to enjoy, first hand, the pool and spa. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROY UTAH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we were at a super 8 and it was horrible!! called comfort inn and they had rooms available. the front had us a roomdesk lady (Tammy-Lee) was extremly nice and helpful, she had us a room and we were able to checkin the next morning bright and early. Tom was at the front desk in te morning and extremly freindly! room was clean smelled wonderful! continential breakfasts was good also. swimming pool looked inviting!! (wish i would have brought a swimsuit)

Room Tip: rooms on the back maybe quieter. we stayed on the hyw side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Regional Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am so glad we were able to salvage your trip to Macomb. Thank you for your kind words. It's very gratifying to know that our staff was accommodating and friendly. Our greatest assets are our employees and I will make sure all of them hear the kind words you said about them. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1646 North Lafayette Street, Macomb, IL 61455 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Macomb)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Macomb
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Macomb
Macomb Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.