We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Macomb

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Macomb to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Macomb
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1639 East Jackson Street, Macomb, IL 61455   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Sad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The staff were rude to one another in addition to the guests. It was a very unpleasant atmosphere.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Macomb, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Elle K,

It is surprising to read a review from one of our guests who feels that the staff is rude to one another and to our guests. I know that my staff and I try to create an atomsphere of team building and one that is conducive to wowing our guests. It is unfortunate that you had that experience and I do apologize that we dropped the ball in making your stay anything less than exceptional. I would like to speak to you about your experience at our hotel, and I do hope to have the honor and privilege to make up for your recent experience. Please contact me at the hotel at (309)837-6000 at your earliest convenience.

Hospitably Yours,

Andrea Smith-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
69
11
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We love this hotel. Whenever we come in town to visit family. This is the place we stay...
Our only disappointment with this hotel.....is when it is NOT available.

Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly, comfortable staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Good physical plant but the staff is slow and inept and not well trained. Very expensive for such a small town. The hotel staff seems more concerned about their rule book and less about providing excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HImac01, General Manager at Hampton Inn Macomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I am very sorry that your experience at our hotel was not an exceptional one. It is my goal and passion that every guest that enters the doors have a wonderful stay. I would like to speak to you about the issues and problems you encountered while staying with us. Please contact me at the hotel at 309-837-6000 or via email at andrea.k.smith@hilton.com.

Hospitably Yours,


Andrea Smith-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here two nights in February, 2012. I have had to stay in several motels in Macomb over the years and I think this one is the nicest (it helps that it is one of the newest motels in Macomb). Beds were comfortable, rooms were quiet and breakfasts were decent. Staff was friendly and the workout room was adequate. I had only two complaints about the whole stay. There was a significant draft coming in from the air conditioning / heater unit area of the room. The other complaint was the rate. After taxes, my room was around $117 per night. This seems real high for a small town like Macomb. Other than that, I would plan on coming back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel. I was very surprised at the space in the room and the appointments. We were greeted promptly. The pool/hot tub area is very nice and clean. My room was perfect. Nice and clean. The only two problems I had was the tempurature and the noise. I wanted to turn the heat down and could not. So it was kind of warm in my room for my tastes. Also, it is very noisey. The walls are thin. I was on the 4th floor and I am thankful I was, I could hear people walking and could not imagine if I were below, plus my neighbor kept opening and closing the door and it shock the walls.
On a positive note the breakfast was very good and I even forgot my toothbruch and they supplied one to me. I would for sure stay here again, only if I got a room on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: Get one on the 4th floor. Otherwise you will hear everyone walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HImac01, General Manager at Hampton Inn Macomb, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel! I want to tell you how much we appreciate your business and feedback. I value your feedback because it is a great learning tool for my whole team! It is our passion that every guest have an exceptional stay and that we offer unparallel service! We take pride in doing the little things and doing the ordinary extraordinarily well. Please don’t hesitate to call the front desk or a member of management if you ever experience issues such as your thermostat in the room not working or noise. It truly is our pleasure to assist in any way! We look forward to you returning to our property and as always, "We Love Having You Here"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel did not live up to it's rating. After checking in I was informed that they were having issues with hot water. It was too late to look for another hotel (not much to choose from in Macomb). The clerk was not friendly and seemed stressed. The room and bed were pretty nice but the bathroom was lacking in cleanliness. There were strange noises in the room all night (beeping noise, pipes rattling, etc.). The breakfast area is poorly set up with not much seating area unless you want to eat as a group. There was not much selection and there was no attendant to keep it clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HImac01, General Manager at Hampton Inn Macomb, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Rondot98,
I want to take this time to apologize for your experience at our hotel during your recent visit! I know that it was very frustrating to travel to Macomb and then find out that there was no hot water that inght in our hotel! We were working very hard to resolve the issues surrounding the water and not have it impact our guest, however it did prove more challenging than we expected. I have absolutely no words that I can offer to you other than I am truly sorry for having to experience a stressed out employee and a breakfast that was below your expectations. I would like to offer you our 100% satisfaction guarantee and return to you your money for your stay that night. It is my passion to ensure that every guest that walk through my doors, have an exceptional stay. Unfortunately, we dropped the ball on this experience, but I would love to get the opportunity to "WOW" you the next time you have to stay in Macomb! Please contact me at the hotel directly 309-837-6000 or via email at andrea.k.smith@hilton.com. I want to apologize again for any inconvenience caused and I also want to Thank you in advance for the chance to make this up to you and not only meet your expectations next time but to also exceed them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Had a king studio which was very clean and nicely apportioned, though I was surprised there was no microwave or mini fridge. Wireless internet worked fine. Very few occupants though it was break for university students, so population and demand was likely down in Macomb then. Water was turned off until 4 p.m. for repairs. Overall, it was a nice hotel. It is not one of the older ones; the Best Western (former Holiday Inn) has existed next door for much longer (I've used it over the years when in Macomb on business) and this has only been up a few years. Beds comfortable. One of the best options in Macomb.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Macomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Macomb

Address: 1639 East Jackson Street, Macomb, IL 61455
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Macomb
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Macomb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Macomb 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to University of Western Illinois, restaurants, and shopping, the Hampton Inn Macomb, IL hotel is a perfect choice. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Macomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Macomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.