We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch stop in Long Grove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Grove Cafe

Long Grove Cafe
235 Robert Parker Coffin Rd, Long Grove, IL 60047-9616
847-955-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Long Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
800 reviews 800 reviews
653 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop in Long Grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stopped here for lunch while exploring the shops in Long Grove - a close getaway day from Chicago. It is a lovely place in a lovely setting with windows overlooking a pond. The service is great. This is a Greek-influenced place, but with a variety of items on the lunch menu. The salads and entrees were delicious. A great place to stop and relax.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,400 reviews 1,400 reviews
946 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 291 cities Reviews in 291 cities
780 helpful votes 780 helpful votes
“Decent Friday night fish fry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here with some friends. We all ordered the all-you can eat fish fry. Although the fish was good, it was not the best fish fry in this area. It was a good value at $9.95 pp. We ate outside on the patio overlooking the pond that provided a very nice atmosphere. There were quite a few mosquitoes after it got dark. I am looking forward to trying some of the other items on their menu next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outdoor feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

They have a great location in Long Grove. There are a lot of windows that overlook a lovely pond and a covered outdoor eating area. Typical "Greek" restaurant food, but well served.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant, 8 days a week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This charming little restaurant that overlooks a picturesque little duck filled pond, with a delightful outdoor roof covered patio-deck, has the greatest specials every night, with prices that are so affordable, it doesn't pay to cook at home! From $10.00 Charcoal Grilled 12 oz NY Strip Steaks every Tuesday night, to all you can eat Friday night Fish Fry, to $19.95 Prime Rib on Saturday nights, you just can't beat the Long Grove Cafe! I'll leave a little unsaid, for to check out their specials for the other nights. The owner Bill's hospitality is complimented by his entire staff, from Mike the Bartender, to the waiters, waitresses and bus boys. Even their house wines are wonderful. And if you're a Scotch lover, their TOP SHELF Scotch selection can't be beat!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Big let down, won't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We made a DINNER reservation for today at 4:00, Sunday. When we were seated were given a lunch menu. When we asked for a dinner menu, we were told the kitchen stops taking orders at 5 on sundays during the winter months. Would have been nice if they told us that when we made the DINNER reservation. The place was empty, so why was the service so slow. The food? Cajun Crabcake appitezer was OK. Ordered a Black and Blue and build your own burger, both medium. Came out well done. Mediterrean pasta with shrimp. Menu said fresh tomatoes, fresh sweet basil and grilled shimp. More like canned tomatoes, no basil, and over cooked frozen shrimp. This dish was no more than a pile of pasta in a favorless tomatoe juice. The 4th dish was a salad with chicken. hard to mess up. 2 beers, 2 glasses of wine (low quailty) a 1 iced tea. Bill was was around 75.00
Enjoyed watching the ducks in the pond, but if you want good food, go some where else.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Grove Cafe also viewed

Long Grove, Lake County
Long Grove, Lake County
 
Long Grove, Lake County
 

Been to Long Grove Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Grove Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.