We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Reasonable Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' T's Bar-B-Que

Smokin' T's Bar-B-Que
Old McHenry Rd., Long Grove, IL
(847) 726 -0726
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 restaurants in Long Grove
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Crete, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food and Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I split the Angus short rib platter. It was very good. Juicy and tender, the meat was also nicely seasoned. The Mac and Cheese side was good. There were 3 house BBQ sauces on the table. We tried all three. We preferred the original over a Chipotle, which had a small kick, and the Carolina. Never have cared for the vinegar base in a Carolina sauce.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    7
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh food horrible value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I got the BBQ pork sandwich to go and a side of corn pudding which came out to just under $13. The sauce was mediocre, the meat was average, and the corn pudding was sub-par. There are much better BBQ joints in the area. Next time I'll drive the extra time it takes to get to Real Urban BBQ.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
994 reviews 994 reviews
725 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 232 cities Reviews in 232 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
“Great food but not a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here. It was a bit difficult to find, as the parking lot was strange. As soon as you walk in you place your order. Once you place your order you go to a seat at a table and they bring you your food to your table. Smokin' T's Bar-B-Que is a cozy place with a clean environment. She ordered the Classic Que Pork Sandwich ($8.50), which was very good, but the bun was tiny. I ordered the Short Rib Sandwich ($10.50), which was also very good, but the bun was tiny. Good bbq sauce. The sandwiches includes no sides. We both ordered a side of coleslaw ($2.50 each). Overall not a good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yucky Mac & Cheese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Noodles were sooo over cooked they were mushy...and gross cheese sauce... The BBQ was good...not much room in the dinning area to eat...it would be better to order it to go...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have eaten at Smokin' T's a number of times. Food is always good. People great. Big community sponsors. Try the Turkey!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' T's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Long Grove, Lake County
Long Grove, Lake County
 
Long Grove, Lake County
Long Grove, Lake County
 

Been to Smokin' T's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' T's Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.