We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Islands Restaurant West

Greek Islands Restaurant West
300 E 22nd St, Lombard, IL 60148-4924
630-932-4545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 171 Restaurants in Lombard
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Greek lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The lobby is nice, a big fireplace and some iced down raw seafood to look at. What an octopus.
Nice strong fresh brewed iced tea and some homemade bread to start. The provided butter wad frozen stiff though.
I ordered a gyro and the aphrodite salad.
The salad was stuffed with apples and grapes with some feta. Good stuff.
The gyro was big. No lettuce. Good tzaziki. I had to eat some of it with a fork before picking it up to avoid looking like a minotaur (sorry).
Overall, very tasty and very Greek.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    48
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illiniois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We needed a quieter table area... had to wait for it and were offered free drinks until it was ready!!
The table was, indeed, away from the louder parts of the place..
George, the manager, could not have been more accommodating with this need!!
The food was delicious! Saganaki, salads, gyros, .. we loved it all!
Fantastic Bloody Mary too!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great family style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

What a feast! And what great service! and they have a 25% off plan between 2 and 4 on weekdays. The appetizers alone were a meal! White table cloths, Greek beer was great. OOpa!! Delicious greek specialties. Cant wait to go back and try the dishes I did not try this time. The menu dishes are "translated" for those unfamiliar with greek dishes. GREAT

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Illinois
1 review
“Not as Good as the Downtown One”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were frequent visitors to the Downtown Greek Islands, but decided to try Lombard due to the downtown tax rate. The food was just OK and the taramasalada, one of our favorites, was TERRIBLE. We decided it was just a fluke, so we tried it once more and it was the same thing. Then, we went to the Downtown restaurant again, and everything was fabulous. We usually order the grilled octopus, chicken kapama, and this new item, which is like a pork shwarma. Another of our guests had the pastichio, and that was very good also. So, if you have a choice, definitely go to the Downtown site (Adams & Halsted).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You definitely need to go there to experience outstanding Greekish Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Went there for lunch while on the way to ORD airport, and it was great food, service and ambiance. I never had such great greek food in the US before. The staff are very welcoming, very well decorated hall, and the overall ambiance was truly outstanding. I had combination meat platter, which was great, although all the entrees sounded very attractive. I wish I could go there several times to try all their traditional/authentic greek food. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Restaurant West also viewed

Lombard, DuPage County
Lombard, DuPage County
 
Lombard, DuPage County
 

Been to Greek Islands Restaurant West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Islands Restaurant West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.