We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Inn Lombard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Inn Lombard to your Saves list
Stay Inn Lombard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 E 22nd Street, Lombard, IL 60148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPECIAL DEAL CALL HOTEL
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value and enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of this motel. Rooms are smaller but well-kept, clean, and comfortable. We liked having the mini fridge in our room (2nd floor), and there is a microwave available for use in the lobby. The all-day coffee bar and ice water in the lobby were a nice touch, too. Friendly and pleasant staff. We originally had 4 days booked but extended to 6 nights, as we enjoyed our first night so much and decided we'd rather not move motels. Very good price and within reasonable drive into downtown Chicago. Also, the entire motel is smoke-free, which is a big plus for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mini fridge if you want that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
33
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

hot breakfast in the morning, a clean and safe place to stay. It is right on 22 behind the Westin and Yorktown. The room was quiet and the staff friendly. It is about 3 miles from the lombard train station to go to Chicago. I took the LaGrange station (about 7 miles away) because they have better parking and a nice downtown with shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: they have small friges in the rooms, which come in handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I want to thank you for taking the time to review the Stay Inn Lombard. Please keep us in mind on your next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Booked to stay at the Stay Inn when visiting the region with family. Basic, mid range hotel, well kept and well located. It is very close to the Yorktown mall with access to shopping and a range of restaurants. It is also near the highways 88 and 355 so well connected overall. They had a basic breakfast included, nothing fancy. Rooms were OK. Good value for money. Courteous staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I want to thank you for taking the time to review the Stay Inn Lombard. Please keep us in mind on your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I refuse to pay the rates for a room in downtown Chicago and with a little research found that the Stay Inn in Lombard was very reasonably priced and not that far a drive into the downtown area and to the local attractions. I noted that many reviewers mentioned the motel was clean, but I was still pleasantly surprised to see exactly how clean it was. The first thing that stood out was the carpet. I've rarely stayed in a motel that didn't make me want to keep my shoes on in the room. But not only was the carpet in the room clean and bright, the carpet in the hallways was too!

The beds were a little strange looking when we walked in and it gave me pause. The comforters had lumps in them from being laundered and it gave a strange appearance to the beds but it turned out the beds themselves were very comfortable. I have some health issues that make it difficult to sleep and I awake often with pain. I had a good nights sleep two of the three nights we were here and I attribute that to the quality of the mattresses. Nice!

There is a microwave and coffee available in the lobby 24/7, which made up for not having a microwave in the room but I did really miss having a mini-fridge in the room. I drink hot tea rather than coffee and they had the set up for tea alongside the coffee, but the hot water wasn't ever really hot except first thing in the morning. Perhaps there aren't enough tea drinkers like me to use it and consequently require it to be refilled during the day? If that's the problem, they need to just dump it out and refill it as it gets lukewarm.

The only thing I would say really needed improving is the breakfast. It was mediocre at best. They did change the menu a little each day, but there wasn't that much of a variety. The eggs were pretty much tasteless. And just once at a motel breakfast I'd like to find the pastries room temperature and not COLD, fresh out of the refrigerator. You can't put them in the toaster so you're stuck with cold pastry. Yuck.

We had a minor maintenance problem that was attended to very promptly. I was impressed with the quick response.

We did miss having a pool. When I booked this location I thought we'd be too busy and too tired at the end of the day to care, but turns out we could have made use of it. Seems most motels in Chicago don't have pools though for some reason.

Overall, great stay and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and are always happy to see that our guests appreciate it. Thank you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I am still talking about my stay at this hotel. It exceeded our expectations in every way.

If I had to have ONE complaint - the room was a tad bit small. It met our needs for our extended weekend in Chicago, however I would have liked a little more roaming room.

The room was clean (upon check-in and after housekeeping came in when we left). The breakfast was tasty and I appreciated the variety and hot options (not just your typical bagels & cereal).

We stayed on the 3rd floor right off the elevator and I have no complaints (I've read some about noise from the elevator and was worried a bit at first). The bed?! It slept like a dream. We both said we hadn't slept so well in a hotel in a very long time.

This location is ideal!!! I stayed in Downers Grove (a nearby suburb) a few years ago and was already familiar and Lombard did not disappoint! You are a straight shot into downtown and everything you could need is easily accessible (food, shopping, movies, etc.). I'd definitely stay here again, in a heart beat!

Thanks Stay Inn & thank you Hotwire for making my birthday weekend in Chicago one to remember. ((I also booked a car rental through Hotwire for this trip)) :) I've always used priceline and this was my first booking experience with Hotwire and I'll return, for sure!!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the 3rd floor...no other suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Stay Inn Lombard. Your kind words are really appreciated and we are extremely happy that you enjoy your stay with us :).


Please keep us in mind when you are back in the area.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I booked this room via Hotwire and it was about $60 after taxes. The room and bathroom were all really clean. The location is great because you're close to all the highways and across the street from Yorktown mall. The breakfast is free and is tasty with a lot of options. I would stay here again. The only thing is they don't bring anything to your room, so if you need shampoo or an extra pillow, you have to go get it yourself which seemed kind of odd to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was a little concerned about making a reservation at Stay Inn. It was a great low price, but I had expected the quality to be lower. It was not! It was a great deal and super accommodations. At many places I would have had to pay much more for the same atmosphere and amenities. Good job.

Room Tip: I don't know which room would be better than another. I always like rooms on the first floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay Inn Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Inn Lombard

Address: 222 E 22nd Street, Lombard, IL 60148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lombard
#3 Business Hotel in Lombard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Inn Lombard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stay Inn Lombard is conveniently located near a plethora of restaurants and shopping. It is an ideal choice when visiting Lombard, Downers Grove, or Oak Brook areas. Whether you are traveling on business, attending a family function or vacationing you will love our award winning customer service and accommodations. Come for the comfort and stay for the smiles. All guest rooms include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stay Inn Lombard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Inn Lombard Hotel Lombard
Hampton Inn Lombard
Lombard Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Inn Lombard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.