We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hampton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Inn Lombard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Inn Lombard to your Saves list
Stay Inn Lombard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 E 22nd Street, Lombard, IL 60148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPECIAL DEAL CALL HOTEL
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not the Hampton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

First time in this hotel, it recently was re-branded to a Stay Inn. The room was clean and Ok, the bed was a little too soft for my back. The one item that showed me that help was needed was the comforter, when I entered the room I could not figure out what was wrong with the bed, it was covered with very large lumps. Apparently they had washed them and they were either cheap or old and all of the filling had merged into masses making it useless unless you like hot and cold spots.

The breakfast was nice, with a mixture of eggs that they changed styles daily, yogurt, cereal and granola, bagels and make your own waffles. Nice lobby area with a work center. I travel frequently and may be a little more critical of small details but I found the overall experience good and may consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombarddos, General Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Stay Inn Lombard, we value your opinions. The Stay Inn actually changed brands from Hampton Inn 1.5 years ago. However, we continue to strive to keep our guests satisfied with their stay. I apologize if your stay was anything less than satisfactory. I am very glad you enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you will consider choosing the Stay Inn again upon your next visit to our area. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Michelle Seamon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
33
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Based on other reviews, we opted to stay at this very nice hotel. It was by far the least expensive of any in that area and a very pleasant surprise. While the room is on the small size, the space is well utilized. It was very clean and looked almost new. The staff was cordial. We were especially pleased that they have a nice breakfast - scrambled eggs and even a waffle maker. Since my mother is in a retirement center near here, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombarddos, General Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest of the Stay Inn,
Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments about our cleanliness and breakfast variety. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will visit us again on your next trip. I will share your comments with our entire staff. Thank you again!!
Michelle Seamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have stayed at several hotels in the area, Stay Inn really is a great value for the money in the area. It's clean and the staff is friendly. The decor is a little older, the furniture is a little scratched, and there are tube tvs. There is a definitely a trade off but considering the value and how clean it is. It's a good trade off.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor once and the A/C for the building was very loud so maybe stay on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombarddos, General Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I wanted to take a moment to say thank you so much for taking the time to offer your positive comments to trip adivisor. We appreicate your feedback and will pass it on to our entire staff. Thank you again and we hope you will chose the Stay Inn Lombard on your next trip to our area.
Sincerely,
Michelle Seamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

i have stayed at the Stay Inn Lombard, Illinois now for almost 20 nights. it continues to please myself and girlfriend. i noticed the rate had gone up on hotels.com to $79.00, but it came down to $63.00 because i was staying 2 nights. comparable hotels are closer to $90.00 a night.
this hotel is clean, clean, clean. premium bedding and big comfortable king size bed with sofa in standard king. a bathroom that any girlfriend, wife or mother will be more than pleased with, with lots of mirrors, clean, well maintained shower and tile floor.
free internet. great coffee is always available throughout day and night. very comfortable lobby with nice eating area for breakfast and large hd tv. breakfast is free with scrambled eggs, sometimes biscuits and gravy, fruit, bagels, muffins, pastries, oj and milk. i like this hotel much!!!

Room Tip: get a room far from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The bed had plenty of soft, fluffy pillows. The room and bathroom were very clean. There was a night light in the bathroom which was nice-didn't have to turn on the overhead light during the night. The breakfast bar had a variety of items to choose from. We stayed three nights and the breakfast varied a little each day. Always had waffels, eggs, cereal, bagels, muffins, yogurt, juice, coffee and milk. Sometimes had potatoes or sausage, or cheese on the scrambled eggs. Located next to a large shopping mall. A variety of restaurants nearby. The hotel had a coupon book in the lobby where we found a coupon for a free dessert or appetizer at Famous Dave's which we used. There is a metra station in town if you want to go downtown.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombarddos, General Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much your kind and postive comments about the Stay Inn Lombard. We truely appreicate you taking time from your busy day to let others know about our hotel. I hope you will visit us again the next time you visit the area. Thank you again!!
Michelle Seamon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Very comfortable hotel at a wonderful price. Comforter on bed looked a little strange (lumpy, as though somebody washed down and it lumped together) but overall very comfy. Good location, happy they had breakfast included; eggs (not sure if they were real eggs), make your own waffles, cereals, biscuits and gravy. A great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombarddos, Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Suzanne,
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also very please you enjoyed our full hot breakfast buffet. The eggs are infact real eggs. =) I hope we see you again next time you are in the area. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Lori Von Drasek
Assistant General Manager
Stay Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for for 2 nights and found it very comfortable and very quiet. We traveled with our 7 year old son and found the morning breakfast very helpful. They served Juice coffee and bagels oatmeal a few different cereals that saved us time in the morning. There are several nice restaurants nearby and it was close to the airport and the events we had to attend . I recommend this no frills but clean and very comfortable hotel. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: get a room in the back and not on the first floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombarddos, General Manager at Stay Inn Lombard, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Stay Inn Lombard. We truly appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel with all of your positive comments about the hotel and breakfast. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and are always happy to see that our guests appreciate it.

Thank you again!

Michelle Seamon
General Manager
Stay Inn Lombard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay Inn Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Inn Lombard

Address: 222 E 22nd Street, Lombard, IL 60148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lombard
#3 Business Hotel in Lombard
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lombard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Inn Lombard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stay Inn Lombard is conveniently located near a plethora of restaurants and shopping. It is an ideal choice when visiting Lombard, Downers Grove, or Oak Brook areas. Whether you are traveling on business, attending a family function or vacationing you will love our award winning customer service and accommodations. Come for the comfort and stay for the smiles. All guest rooms include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stay Inn Lombard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Inn Lombard Hotel Lombard
Hampton Inn Lombard
Lombard Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Inn Lombard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.