We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing snacks/great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   707 E. Butterfield Rd., Lombard, IL 60148   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wireless Package
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“disappointing snacks/great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I love the Embassy Suites chain as you get a lot of hotel. The rooms were amazing as every location. Very clean. My biggest complaint was that they really skimped on the snacks. We were there on a soccer tourney weekend, so it was pretzels, nacho chips, and salsa that were whisked away before snack time was over. I have stayed at many locations, and this was by far the saddest snack situation ever. The breakfast was great. The people at the front desk were great except for one lady that didn't have a ton of patience. The Wi-Fi was difficult to use. I am a ES member, so I got free Wi-Fi; however, my code would not work. Wi-Fi very spotty in the rooms, but it was solid in public areas.

Room Tip: stay on the second floor. the stairs are useful but only accessible from this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    152
    70
    39
    28
See reviews for
174
77
11
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The staff waas very helpful, property was booked during our stay so very busy - the staff handled breakfast very well - would definately stay again - prices could come down a bit! The overall location of the hotel is extremeyl good as there is MANY reasturant and shopping facalities around - also lots of hotels with competitive pricing!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed during Jun 20-22. There was no greeting from anyone at the entrance door since we walked to check in. The receptionist looks like she was angry to see us there. We booked non-smoke room but as soon as we step into the room, we smell very strong cigaret scent. There are too many guests during weekend that we stayed. Pool was packed with a lot of kids played so rough and jumped into the pool like they own it, of course no parent supervise them. I gave coupon to the person in charge once I get in, then I made a plate for my 2 years old daughter. Once I returned back to make a plate for myself, the same staff came to ask me if I gave her the breakfast coupon. Pancake, Scrambled Egg, Bacon, Sausages were cold and not tasty. The cleanliness is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The pool entry is ONLY by two shaky ladders that are difficult for elderly people to maneuver. They have a "lift" in which you would be lowered to the pool and TOTALLY HUMILIATED! Too crowded - too many family reunions and buses and those people eat everything in sIght - like they have never eaten in public before. Also, VERY NOISY

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I will give them 2 starts maybe I should just give them 1! Yes I'm going to give them 1!

Check in was all bad. Diamond Members be aware.

They don't change the TV so you can play your game system, which all Embassy Suites do. I hate they changed the TV where you have to buy movies. That's one!

Don't expect free breakfast like all the other embassy suites they gave me a coupon. I wonder what they give people with familys. I always ate free breakfast at all embassy suites. I have been to over a 100 of them. That's Two!

Please bring your own drinks and snacks because there little stores closes after a certain time. I have never seen that. They must don't like to make money in the middle of the night. Oh they will give you water. That's 3 strikes I was out. But I have a 4.

Please whatever you do don't ask them to bring a bell cart up. Lmao the guy told me there right here. ( meaning come down stairs and get it your self) when I know they have a bell man. Diamond Members be aware.

Room was Ok. It was clean. In the morning around 8:30 am someone was beating on the walls or something.

I just checked out and went back down the street to the Marriott.

Better service free food open store and I can play PS3.

I will not return to many WE DO NOTS.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was my second stay at this property, it has been renovated since my last stay. The front desk staff were very warming and friendly. The location is great, plenty of choices for dining and shopping are close by. Unfortunately I missed breakfast due to an early flight. So I cannot elaborate on that. I did leave an item and luckily I was able to recover it, thanks to housekeeping. I will definitely revisit this property!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Can't go wrong with this Hotel. Practically walking distance from Interstate, and amenities cannot be beat. Complimentary Happy Hour (actually two hours) is outstanding and this was also the case with the complimentary breakfast experience. I actually hated leaving, but all good things must come to an end.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook

Address: 707 E. Butterfield Rd., Lombard, IL 60148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lombard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Lombard/ Oak Brook hotel is located across the street from Yorktown Mall the Shops at Butterfield and just 2 miles from the prestigious Oakbrook Center Mall. Morton Arboretum and the Brookfield Zoo are other local attractions just minutes from this Oak Brook hotel. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale accommodations provide a comfortable and relaxing environment with the very best in customer service. An ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago
Embassy Suites Lombard
Lombard Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago - Lombard / Oak Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.