We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the average.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande

Rio Grande
3091 Woodlawn Rd, Lincoln, IL 62656-9610
217-732-2000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Better than the average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Rice, beans, chips, salsa the same as any Mexican restaurant. The Chile Verde though was really good as it seemed to of had someone that cared make it. Clean, friendly and inexpensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Rio Grande was a wonderful restaurant that I had the pleasure of visiting while in Lincoln. I regularly ate lunch and dinner there while I was in town. The staff were extremely nice and even helped me practice speaking Spanish. The food and drinks were great. They have a wide variety to choose from and the lunch menu was reasonably priced. They also give you a lot of food (it took me 2 days to eat all of my fajitas). The atmosphere was very friendly and the decor had lots of bold and bright colors. During my 2 week stay the Rio Grande was my staple restaurant that I just kept coming back to!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best south of the Border flavor around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great staff! Friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.
Huge selection of food, great prices!
Tons of drink specials!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This may be a better version of that middle white American version of Mexican food--it is not as unique as that one finds in the southern and western states, but it is consistent and will satisfy that nacho/cheesy/meaty craving just fine. Nice menu assortment of seafood as well as chicken and beef, 6 fajitas choices, 7 kinds of quesadillas, 5 chimichangas. Friendly and attentive staff. Good place to stop between Bloomington and Springfield.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthasville, Missouri
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Grande as in Large Servings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We ate here on a Friday night. The Marguaritas were excellent and the food was awsome. The prices are VERY Reasonable for the amount of food you get.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.