We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burt's Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Burt's Deli
114 Greentree Ctr, Libertyville, IL 60048
(847) 367-9687
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Libertyville
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

burts deli is one of those rare finds. looking for a small locally owned and run by the owner? this is it, had there yummy sandwich wich is a comunation of great cornbeef( the real deal kind ) pastrami wich was superb, cheese of your choice with horseradish served on great rye bread. plus plenty of great kosher pickels. this was a meal in itself. i travel 45 minutes to go here and worth the drive. can not say enough how great it was. there only open unti 5 p.m. monday - friday and 4:30 saturday and closed on sundays. go , you will be pleased.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goochland, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great local lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Got to have the "Yummy". that was the owners recommendation for a newbie like me. Great sandwich and i will most definitely go back when in the area. Friendly place, great food. I hope it never changes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best corned beef in lake county!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A little pricy for the starkness of the deli, but no one has better corned beef even if you go down to skokie. You aren't coming here for the service or the decor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went here and paid a very high price for lunch, when they said the total I thought it was a mistake. Two sandwiches and chips and cokes for 30.00 is way to much for what we got. The sandwich was on rye bread and was of normal size , nothing amazing

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Been going here since I was a kid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The only thing holding me back from the "Excellent" rating is the pricing, it is a little high, but it is worth it! I have been going here since I was old enough to ride a bike. I still stop by every time and pick up corn beef to take back home in Indiana.

When you go in, make sure you try to pick up the coin on the floor.. lol.,. You have to go and see what I mean...

It is a traditional Deli, so you are not really going for atmosphere, you are going for good food quick, and you will get it!

Tell Ralph I said "Hi!"

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burt's Deli also viewed

Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
 

Been to Burt's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burt's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.