We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, subpar food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bonita

Casa Bonita
633 N. Milwaukee Ave., Libertyville, IL 60048
847-362-4400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 79 Restaurants in Libertyville
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, subpar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Casa Bonita offers a great location, outdoor dining and great margaritas! Should that offset the quality of the food? Each time we come here, I hope for improved quality as the food is just okay. The chicken dishes are good, but the quality of the beef leaves a lot to be desired. Guacomole is under seasoned as are some of the other dishes. This restaurant is totally appropriate for a meal with the kids or adults night out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I love this place. Great food, meal comes warm, some places they bring your food and it's chilled already. The place is clean even in the winter, the floor is clean. Can't stand eatery where it is okay to have dirty floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Restaurant row in downtown Libertyville adds more variety with the addition of Casa Bonita , a lively Mexican restaurant serving very good basic Mexican food. My wife and I went there Saturday night and waited about a half an hour at the bar until we were seated. We enjoyed the tasty margaritas rimmed with more sugar than salt. The guacamole was excellent accompanied by both traditional chips and the regular kind served with salsa dip. The fish tacos we're very good tending to be mild in flavor emphasizing the fish instead of other accompaniments. The chicken and beef tacos which my wife had were also very good, the chicken being tender and the ground beef flavorful but not too spicy.
Overall, this place offers lively ambiance and very good food making it worth a Saturday night visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Mexican delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good food but love the atmosphere! Met with friends and parked behind the corner. Waiter was attentive to our needs and provided good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mexican food in a charming historic town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My sister and I were charmed by the historic character of the main street of Libertyville while staying at the Hampton Inn for a family wedding. We were directed to Libertyville by the hotel and stopped at Casa Bonita which appeared to be the main restaurant open on a Sunday evening. We both loved the food and service, but did not sample the large supply of tequilas. We will have to visit this suburb of Chicago which has grown on the bones of a 19th century village again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Bonita also viewed

Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 

Been to Casa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.