We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stop for a Quick Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Le Roy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Le Roy to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Le Roy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 South Persimmons Court, Le Roy, IL 61752   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Roy
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Stop for a Quick Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family was recently driving from WI to FL and needed a place for a quick overnight stay. We normally get a little further before stopping but had to wait for our son to get out of school. We've never stayed in Le Roy, IL before and didn't know what hotels were available. Thanks for smartphone technology I located the Holiday Inn Express in Le Roy where we pulled off for the night.

We checked in a little after 11pm so the lobby was fairly quiet. My son began to cough as I was completing the paperwork and without pausing, the front desk clerk reached down and grabbed him a bottle of water and offered it to him. I was touched by her offer of hospitality that we hadn't even asked for.

Our room was clean, spacious and quiet. The mattresses were comfortable and even though we had to roll out early the next morning, I felt rested for the long day of driving ahead. A good night's sleep makes such a difference when you're on a roadtrip!

The breakfast was hot and good with plenty of options. Eggs, sausage patties and links and bacon along with their very tasty cinnamon rolls. Yum. The cinnamon rolls alone are worth staying at HIE if you happen to have a sweet tooth. (Guilty!)

The price was right, the breakfast filling, the room comfortable and quiet. I'd stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a room for the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_Can_Do_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night. The front desk attendants (both evening and morning) were great. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. Huge gorgeous bathroom. The beds were wonderful - very firm (which I like) but very comfortable. They had 2 types of pillows on each bed, clearly marked on each pillow, firm or soft. The breakfast spread was impressive. The usual beverages of coffee, milk, and juices, biscuits and gravy (which I did not care for, but my mom liked them), sweet rolls, yogurt, bagels, eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereal, fruit...I'm sure I'm leaving something out, but we left happy and full! Other people mentioned having issues, but we did not experience any of those. As we have family in Farmer City and go there once a year, this will be our hotel of choice from now on (the 2 in Farmer City are AWFUL!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCI_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here on the strength of 4.5 stars on Tripadvisor and our expectations were high ... And we were dissapointed. First the positives, the front desk staff was attentive and fast at check-in. The location is convenient between Champaign and Bloomington, and reasonable priced. Now the dissapointments. Navigating to the hotel is a bit confusing, and the parking lot is on the smaller sized. As a "Platinum" member, there was no (obvious) attempt to upgrade our room. Breakfast was a bit dissapointing. OJ tasted "watered down" compared to others, and muffins were stale (yesterday's). Room had a strong disinfectant smell (worse than most), but on a positive note the windows open fully. Hall noise seemed louder than many other HI Express's. Atention to detail: breakfast area wall obviously had something hanging at one point but the holes have not been fixed. Bathroom walls had dirt near the floor. No shelf in shower to hold soap. I just expect more for a $100 per night 5 star on the freeway.

Room Tip: To minimize road and room noise, ask for 3rd floor non-freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

A "Trip Advisor 2011" decal is displayed on the door of this hotel, confirming the positive reviews which led me to reserve a room in one of our many trips through this area. My conclusion after a recent stay is that the kudos are to a degree undeserved.

On the positive side, when entering the lobby there is a sign on the desk giving instructions how to summon help if the desk is unattended. In the room itself, I was immediately impressed with the quality of the lighting. The desk, floor, and nightstand lamps were more than up to the task to providing reading light and suffusing the area with a soft white glow. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Unfortunately, only at check out did I encounter an employee who had a pleasant, professional demeanor. The initial greeter did apologize for not being at the desk, but she seemed harried and had a pro forma attitude about service. The worst I saw, though, was from the breakfast area attendant. Not once did I hear her greet anyone or make eye contact with a large family group who were obviously, but courteously, trying to get her attention.

As for the breakfast itself, there were some issues. Fresh fruit consisted of four over-ripe bananas. The orange juice had not been stirred; it took some time with the spigot running to get more than an orangeade. Also, there were no bagels, though there were plenty of sweet rolls as well as biscuits and gravy, yogurt (but no granola), two types of eggs (boiled and scrambled).

There were problems with the room: On the second floor, we heard every footstep from above. It was not only the noise but the rattling caused by the footsteps, which were not in and of themselves unduly loud. There is just minimal soundproofing, it seems. Then there is the bathroom door, which did not clear the floor. Opening and closing it required a great deal of effort and produced considerable noise. This is not something that came up during our stay. I wonder why it had not been fixed. Another bathroom point: The tub is slippery and there is only one safety bar, placed near the faucet for entry and exit. I guess a bath would be out of the question for anyone who needed a firm hold to get up out of the tub.

Internet connection was not as outlined on the card and when I figured out an alternate procedure, the connection did not hold. At breakfast, I noted some business travelers discussing the same problem.

My experience with Holiday Inn has been limited. Based on my experience with this hotel, I will consider further association with caution.

Room Tip: Maybe a top-floor room would obviate the noise-from-above problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaPeregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Le Roy, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your reflections of our hotels performance and amenities are being taken into strong consideration on our continuing effort to make every guest stay better with each returning visit.

In the time since your stay with us we have added additional wireless routers throughout the hotel to better the signal strength of our internet and are already receiving positive feedback in strength of connection and speed. We appreciate your response about the slippery condition within the bathtubs as well and we are adding additional traction control for the floor surfaces within the tubs and showers.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with our property and with our brand and thank you for letting us know of the areas that we can improve, we promise not to let your review go without action on our end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I overnighted there and there is nothing to complain about. The property is fairly new and very well maintained. The room was spotless along with the hallways, lobby, and breakfast area. The breakfast area is a typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast. There are several restaurants within a short distance from the hotel. For an extra $20 Fido can stay.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be about the same. There is a truck stop across the parking lot and I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is clean, modern, comfortable and well managed. The furnishings in the rooms were new and slightly upscale for a HIE property. The King Size Bedroom Suite was spacious, clean and well appointed. The pool was a nice relief after a long day at the office. It is for the most part quiet but some of the rear facing rooms will experience some engine braking noise from the highway at the off ramp.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We chose to stay here after a 13 hour drive from Georgia on our way to Wisconsin. My husband decided a time we would drive until, and Le Roy was where I figured we'd end up at that time. We decided to stay here after several other good stays at Holiday Inn Express's on our 2 week vacation. It was perfect for us! Easy to get to from the highway (although the roads are a bit rough, but no fault of the hotel). Check in was quick and easy, and we were in our room in no time which was a blessing after a 13 hour drive. It was quiet and clean. The room was a good size, and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was decent, my kids LOVE the automatic pancake maker! The water was clear, no problems there! I did notice some ants coming in through the space between the carpet and tile in the bathroom, but that did not bother me any. Our key woudn't work after breakfast, and although it did take a few minutes to find someone to help us (it seemed that the man who was supposed to be at the desk was also taking care of many other things at the same time), it was taken care of quickly, and we were back into our room in no time. We really have no complaints about this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiefFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Roy
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 23 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Farmer City
Days Inn Farmer City
#1 of 1 in Farmer City
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
13.5 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#1 of 23 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Le Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Le Roy

Address: 705 South Persimmons Court, Le Roy, IL 61752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Le Roy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Roy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Le Roy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Le Roy, Il, located just off I-74 midway between Bloomington and Champaign, and only 15 minutes from the Central Illinois Regional Airport (BMI). The Holiday Inn Express, Le Roy enjoys easy access to both Illinois State University and the University of Illinois (U of I), as well as Illinois Wesleyan University (IWU). Our corporate travelers will also find the hotel s location convenient to locations such as Pioneer Hybrid, Monsanto, Mediacom, Mitsubishi and State Farm Insurance. If you are traveling on leisure, our easy access from I-74 will make visiting spots such as Moraine View State Park, Clinton Lake, or Farmer City Raceway a breeze. All the attractions to be found in Bloomington, IL or Champaign, IL are also just a few minutes drive from the hotel. Guests of the Holiday Inn Express Le Roy will love the hotel s new, contemporary accommodations, our free hot Smart Start Breakfast, and the rewards of Priority Club Membership. Each well appointed guest room will offer free high speed wired and wireless Internet, 32 inch flat panel televisions, and a microwave and refrigerator. While you are with us, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, work out in the state of the art fitness center, or keep up with family and friends in the business center. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Le Roy, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Le Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Le Roy Hotel Le Roy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing